Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16. Get early access to 30% off your first year.Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16 Get early access
Alternatives guide

TalentLMS alternatives: eight options and who each one suits

TalentLMS is a quick, affordable cloud LMS, and the reasons teams outgrow it are specific: SCORM 1.2 only, no webcam proctoring, tests locked inside courses, and no way to run it on your own server. This guide compares eight alternatives on the facts their own pages publish, and says plainly which buyers should stay.

Key takeaways

  • The usual reasons to leave TalentLMS are exam integrity, SCORM 2004 or multi-SCO content, self-hosting, and plan caps on branches and users.
  • If you want ready-made courses, a free plan and checkout built in, TalentLMS is still one of the better choices in its class.
  • Only three of the eight options publish a price: iSpring Learn, 360Learning and Tovuti. The rest, including LMS Advisor, quote.
  • Native webcam proctoring is rare. LMS Advisor has it built in; iSpring and Absorb use partners or a code; the others do not state it.
  • Self-hosting is offered by LMS Advisor, Moodle and, at extra cost, iSpring Learn. Every other option is cloud only.
  • LMS Advisor is our own product. We put it where it fits, and each section below says who should look elsewhere.

The best TalentLMS alternatives depend on why you are leaving: LMS Advisor for proctored exams, SCORM 2004 and self-hosting; iSpring Learn for a published per-user price with a bundled authoring tool; Absorb LMS or Litmos for a large course library with a built-in store; 360Learning for courses written by your own experts; LearnUpon for branded sub-portals at 100 users and up; Tovuti for interactive content and a virtual classroom; and Moodle for free, open-source software you run yourself.

We are the LMS Advisor team, and LMS Advisor is our own product. It is listed first below because this is our site, not because it is the right answer for everyone. Each section says who the product suits and who should look elsewhere, and every vendor fact was taken from that vendor’s own pricing, help or security pages in September or October 2026, with the pages linked at the end.

Why do teams look for a TalentLMS alternative?

TalentLMS is a well-made cloud LMS for small and mid-sized teams, so the reasons to leave are usually specific limits rather than general unhappiness. The ones we hear most, each checked against TalentLMS’s own pages:

  • Exam integrity. Tests can require a password or a learner snapshot to start and can be timed, but no webcam proctoring is documented. A certification body, a licensing prep provider or a hiring team eventually needs more.
  • Tests live inside courses. A test is a unit in a course, so there is no way to examine a candidate who is not enrolled in anything.
  • SCORM 1.2 only. The help center lists SCORM 1.2, with xAPI and cmi5 sent to an external LRS. Teams with SCORM 2004 packages from a publisher or a previous LMS hit this early.
  • Cloud only. There is no self-hosted option, which rules it out where a policy says learner records must stay on your own infrastructure.
  • Plan caps. The number of branches allowed rises by plan, and the free plan stops at 5 users and 10 courses.
  • Getting data out. Users, courses and groups export as CSV or Excel, plus uploaded files, but not as whole-course packages.

There are also good reasons to stay. TalentLibrary offers more than 1,000 ready-made courses, checkout with PayPal and Stripe is built in, the mobile apps download content for offline use, and SAML, LDAP and OpenID Connect sign-in with SCIM through Okta and Entra ID are included. If your program is mostly ready-made compliance and soft-skills content with simple quizzes, few of the alternatives below will improve on it.

How we compared the alternatives

We read each vendor’s pricing page, feature pages and public help center, and recorded what they state about pricing model, hosting, content standards, assessment and proctoring, selling, identity and integrations. Where a vendor does not publish something, the table says “not stated” rather than guessing. We did not run trials of every product for this page, and we have a commercial interest in one of them, so treat the sections as a shortlist aid and verify the two or three that fit on the vendors’ own sites. Our comparison pages go row by row on each one.

TalentLMS alternatives compared

OptionBest forPricing model, as publishedHostingStandardsNative proctoring
LMS Advisor (our product)Exam-led training, certification and compliance, in the cloud or on your own serverQuote-based. Cloud subscription, or a self-hosted install on a subscription or a one-time licenseOur cloud, or your own PHP and MySQL serverSCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5, LTI 1.3 tool providerYes, set per exam
iSpring LearnTeams that author in iSpring Suite and want a published per-user priceBusiness plan from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually; under 100 users and Enterprise quotedCloud; on-premise installation at additional costSCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI mentioned; cmi5 not statedThrough the OctoProctor partner
LearnUponPrograms with 100 or more users that need sub-portals per audience and a storeQuote-based; plans start from 100, 150 or 300 usersCloud only, AWS, with EU, US or Australia residencySCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI; no cmi5 or multi-SCONot stated
Absorb LMSA large ready-made course library, a built-in cart and HR connectorsQuote-based; SSO, analytics, library and authoring are paid add-onsCloud only, AWS in five regionsSCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI, AICC, single-SCO; cmi5 not statedCourse Proctor code on the device; no webcam
LitmosThousands of ready-made courses and separate tenants for customers and partnersFoundation from $8,000 a year, Platinum from $15,000; libraries and tenants are add-onsCloud only, EU, Australia or US regionsSCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI, AICC; cmi5 not statedNot stated
360LearningCourses written by in-house experts, with forums and co-authoringTeam plan $8 per user a month, billed monthly, up to 100 users; larger plans quotedCloud only, Microsoft AzureSCORM 1.1, 1.2 and 2004, cmi5; xAPI accepted but not recommendedNot stated
TovutiInteractive content types, a virtual classroom and checkout in one subscriptionOne plan from $7,500 a year for 100 learners, billed annuallyVendor-hosted; self-hosting not statedSCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with an external LRS, AICC; cmi5 unsupportedNot stated
MoodleOpen-source software you control, with developers or a partner to run itSoftware is free; MoodleCloud Starter $170 a year for 50 usersSelf-hosted, MoodleCloud or a certified partnerSCORM 1.2 and AICC; SCORM 2004 not natively supportedSafe Exam Browser lockdown; no webcam proctoring natively

Prices and plan limits are as published on each vendor’s pricing page in September or October 2026, and change without notice. TalentLMS itself: free plan for 5 users and 10 courses, paid tiers billed monthly or yearly, Enterprise by quote.

LMS Advisor: for exams that carry consequences, in the cloud or on your server

LMS Advisor is an LMS and a proctored exam platform in one product, and that is the honest reason to pick it over TalentLMS. Proctoring is configured per exam rather than bought from a partner: periodic webcam snapshots, AI face monitoring, fullscreen lockdown, logged tab switches and copy or paste, ID photo capture, device lock and violation limits. The Test Center examines candidates who are not enrolled in any course, with email invites and one-time-code sign-in, which is the gap TalentLMS’s course-bound tests leave for certification bodies and hiring teams. The question bank has 14 types, including coding questions that run against test cases and recorded audio and video answers.

On content it runs SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5, and acts as an LTI 1.3 tool with grade passback, so a client’s own LMS can launch your exams. SAML 2.0 and SCIM 2.0 are standard. It runs in our cloud or on your own PHP and MySQL server, which is the route to take when a policy says records must stay on your infrastructure, and a self-hosted install can be bought on a one-time license.

Who should look elsewhere. There is no content library, so if TalentLibrary is why you bought TalentLMS, Absorb, Litmos or iSpring will serve you better. There is no native checkout; selling runs through WooCommerce with our plugin. Pricing is quote-based with no free plan, and we hold no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 attestation. Read the full LMS Advisor vs TalentLMS comparison before deciding.

iSpring Learn: for a published per-user price and a bundled authoring tool

iSpring Learn, renamed iSpring LMS in October 2025, is the closest match to TalentLMS in spirit: a corporate LMS for onboarding, compliance and development with a published price. Its Business plan is listed from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually, which comes to $8,286 a year; accounts under 100 users and the Enterprise tier are quoted. Every plan bundles iSpring Suite, a desktop authoring tool that works inside PowerPoint, plus AI course creation from uploaded files. It supports SCORM 1.2 and 2004 and names xAPI on its features page, which covers the SCORM 2004 gap that pushes teams off TalentLMS.

Two things to check. Proctoring comes through the OctoProctor partner integration, with monitoring, recording and identity checks, and the cost is not stated. An on-premise installation is offered at an additional cost, which makes it one of only three options here with a self-hosted route. iSpring states ISO 27001 certification and a 36-language interface.

Who it suits: teams whose authors live in PowerPoint, who want a course library (iSpring Academy, Udemy, Go1 and LinkedIn Learning connect) and who prefer a price they can read before a sales call. Who should look elsewhere: anyone who needs proctoring in the core product, candidates outside courses, or SCIM provisioning. See LMS Advisor vs iSpring Learn.

LearnUpon: for 100 users and up with portals per audience

LearnUpon sells to organizations training employees, customers and partners, and its own FAQ says it is not a fit under 100 users. Plans start from 100, 150 or 300 users depending on the audience, and everything is quoted. What you get for the step up from TalentLMS is a top portal with branded sub-portals per audience, a built-in store with PayPal, Stripe and Authorize.net, an advanced report builder with scheduling, and SOC 2, ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 from the vendor. Its Create+ AI builder turns documents, slides and video into SCORM 1.2 modules.

It supports SCORM 1.2 and 2004 and xAPI, and its docs say those standards only, without multi-SCO sequencing, cmi5 or LTI. Exams are modules inside courses with six question types, pools, timing and randomization, and no proctoring is stated anywhere on its pages or integrations directory. It runs only in its AWS cloud, with EU, US or Australia residency.

Who it suits: mid-sized programs that need separate branded experiences per customer or partner, a store, and a certified vendor. Who should look elsewhere: teams under 100 learners, anyone needing proctored or standalone exams, and anyone who must self-host. See LMS Advisor vs LearnUpon.

Absorb LMS: for a large course library and a built-in cart

Absorb LMS is an enterprise cloud LMS with paid add-ons for authoring (Create), analytics (Analyze), content (Amplify) and AI. Amplify offers three library tiers, from over 500 to over 20,000 courses from more than 100 publishers, which is the largest library among the options here. The cart is built in and commission-free, with more than 70 gateways, subscriptions, multi-currency and automatic tax. HR connectors for Workday, ADP, UKG and SAP SuccessFactors are turnkey, and Absorb is a SOC 2 vendor.

Pricing is quote-based; the pricing page is a request form with learner ranges from 1 to 50 up to 25,000 and more, and SSO is a paid add-on. It runs as multi-tenant SaaS on AWS in five regions, and the FAQ says no on-premises. Content standards are SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI and AICC, single-SCO only, with cmi5 not stated. The Course Proctor feature means a person enters credentials or an eight-digit code on the learner’s device before a weighted assessment; there is no webcam monitoring or lockdown.

Who it suits: a training team that wants to buy a catalog rather than build one, sell it through a built-in store and sync with a major HR system. Who should look elsewhere: exam-heavy programs, teams that want SSO in the base price, and anyone who must self-host. See LMS Advisor vs Absorb LMS.

Litmos: for ready-made courses and separate tenants

Litmos, formerly SAP Litmos, is a cloud learning platform for employees, customers and partners with published starting points: Foundation from $8,000 a year and Platinum from $15,000, with Platinum AI on request. Content libraries, extra tenants, BI feeds and API packages are add-ons. Its compliance page cites more than 17,700 courses across its libraries, and it offers separate branded tenants for customers and partners, certified Salesforce and Workday connectors, a built-in shopping cart with Stripe and PayPal, and SOC 2 and ISO 27001 from the vendor.

Standards are SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI and AICC, with cmi5 not stated. Proctoring is not stated on its certifications, compliance, trust or assessment pages. Hosting is cloud only with a choice of EU, Australia or US data regions.

Who it suits: organizations that want to buy compliance and skills content at volume, run customer and partner academies as separate tenants, and connect to Salesforce or Workday. Who should look elsewhere: teams with a small budget, exam-led programs, and anyone needing cmi5, LTI or self-hosting. See LMS Advisor vs Litmos.

360Learning: for courses your own experts write together

360Learning is a collaborative learning platform: subject-matter experts and AI build courses together, with co-authors, versioning, forums and upvotes inside every course, plus paths, classrooms and Extended Academies for outside audiences. It is one of the three options with a published price: the Team plan is listed at $8 per user a month, billed monthly, for up to 100 users, with a 30-day trial. Business and Enterprise plans are quoted on annual contracts. It states SOC 2 and ISO 27001, a 38-language interface, and connectors for Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, Oracle HCM and UKG.

It imports SCORM 1.1, 1.2 and 2004 and cmi5, one file per course, and accepts xAPI and AICC while recommending against them. Proctoring is not stated; the Video pitch feature records webcam answers for human review but has no identity check or lockdown. It runs only on Microsoft Azure, and its optional B2B storefront is powered by BigCommerce, separately priced and capped at $50,000 a year in sales.

Who it suits: companies whose training is written by the people who do the work, who want discussion inside the course, and who want to start small on a published price. Who should look elsewhere: certification programs, teams that need an LTI tool provider, and anyone who must self-host. See LMS Advisor vs 360Learning.

Tovuti: for interactive content, a virtual classroom and checkout

Tovuti is a cloud LMS with more than 40 interactive content types, including interactive video, a PowerPoint importer and H5P-style authoring, a built-in virtual classroom, gamification and branded portals. It publishes one plan starting at $7,500 a year for 100 annual learners, billed annually and scaling by learner count, with WayPoints AI and LMS-as-a-Service as add-ons. Checkout for courses, bundles and subscriptions with promo codes runs through Stripe and Authorize.net, and the vendor lists SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA and 21 CFR Part 11.

Standards are AICC, SCORM 1.2 and 2004 and xAPI, single-SCO only, with xAPI needing an external LRS and cmi5 explicitly unsupported. Proctoring is not stated; webcam controls exist only in the virtual classroom. It is vendor-hosted with a weekly Saturday maintenance window, and self-hosting is not stated.

Who it suits: teams that build rich interactive lessons in-house, run live classes, sell courses, and want a published starting price with a long compliance list. Who should look elsewhere: exam-led programs with rich question types, teams with cmi5 or multi-SCO content, and anyone who must self-host. See LMS Advisor vs Tovuti.

Moodle: for open-source software you fully control

Moodle is the free, open-source LMS, extended through community plugins and available as a self-hosted download, as MoodleCloud (Starter listed at $170 a year for 50 users in September 2026) or through a Moodle Certified Partner. It is the only option here with no license fee and full freedom to read and change the code, and it has a published WCAG 2.2 AA design statement. Built-in activities include Page, Lesson and Quiz, with calculated and Cloze question types that corporate LMSs rarely match.

The trade is that hosting, updates, backups and plugin compatibility are your job or your partner’s, and that it supports SCORM 1.2 and AICC natively, with its own FAQ saying SCORM 2004 is not natively supported; xAPI and cmi5 come through plugins. Proctoring is limited to Safe Exam Browser lockdown unless you add a partner plugin. Selling runs on PayPal enrollment as standard, with other gateways as plugins.

Who it suits: organizations with developers or a partner, a plugin their teaching depends on, or a policy that favors open source. Who should look elsewhere: small teams with nobody to run a server, and anyone who needs SCORM 2004, cmi5 or native webcam proctoring. Our LMS Advisor vs Moodle page and the Moodle migration guide cover the self-hosted route in detail.

How to choose between them

Decide on the exam requirement first, because it is the hardest gap to close later. If exams carry consequences, shortlist the options with proctoring in the product or through a named partner and ask to see it run. Then settle the hosting question: a policy that requires your own server leaves three options, and a team with no one to run a server leaves the cloud ones. After that, compare content: the library you want to buy, the authoring tool your team will use, and the standards your existing packages need, checking SCORM 2004 and multi-SCO specifically. Only then compare price, and compare it over three years, because per-user subscriptions grow with headcount and quoted plans hide add-ons until the order form.

Ask every vendor, us included, two questions before signing: how you get courses and completion records back out, and what the renewal looks like after year one. The answers separate the shortlist faster than any feature grid.

Getting your data out of TalentLMS

TalentLMS exports users, courses and groups as CSV or Excel, together with the files you uploaded, but not whole-course packages. Plan for three kinds of content. SCORM, xAPI and cmi5 packages you own re-upload to any option that supports the same version, so check SCORM 1.2 versus 2004 before assuming. Courses built in the TalentLMS editor are rebuilt in the new system from the exported text and media, which is where the authoring tool of the new platform matters. Completion records and certificates should be exported before the account closes, because no vendor on this page will have that history unless it is imported, and some, including LMS Advisor, import users and enrollments from CSV but not exam attempts.

Our LMS migration checklist walks through the sequence, and the comparison pages linked above show what each product imports. The sources for every vendor fact on this page: TalentLMS pricing and FAQ; iSpring pricing and features; LearnUpon pricing and security; Absorb pricing and standards; Litmos plans; 360Learning pricing; Tovuti pricing; Moodle docs. Each comparison page linked above lists the full set.

FAQ

TalentLMS alternatives questions

What is the best TalentLMS alternative?
There is no single best one, because teams leave TalentLMS for different reasons. For proctored exams, SCORM 2004 or self-hosting, LMS Advisor fits. For a published per-user price with a bundled authoring tool, iSpring Learn. For a library of ready-made courses with a built-in store, Absorb LMS or Litmos. For expert-written collaborative courses, 360Learning. For sub-portals per audience at 100 users and up, LearnUpon. For interactive content and a virtual classroom, Tovuti. For free, open-source software you control, Moodle.
Is there a free alternative to TalentLMS?
Moodle is free to license and you host it yourself, or pay for MoodleCloud, listed at $170 a year for 50 users on its pricing page in September 2026. TalentLMS itself has a free plan capped at 5 users and 10 courses. None of the other options on this page has a free plan, though 360Learning and LearnWorlds offer trials and LMS Advisor offers a trial workspace on request. Our free LMS guide covers what free really costs.
Which TalentLMS alternatives support SCORM 2004?
TalentLMS supports SCORM 1.2 only, per its help center. LMS Advisor, iSpring Learn, LearnUpon, Absorb LMS, Litmos, 360Learning and Tovuti all list SCORM 2004. Moodle supports SCORM 1.2 and says in its SCORM FAQ that 2004 is not natively supported. Check multi-SCO sequencing separately: Absorb, LearnUpon and Tovuti say single-SCO only, and LMS Advisor launches the entry resource of a multi-SCO package.
Which alternatives have built-in exam proctoring?
LMS Advisor has native proctoring, set per exam: webcam snapshots, AI face checks, fullscreen lockdown, ID photo capture and violation limits. iSpring Learn offers proctoring through its OctoProctor partner. Absorb LMS has a Course Proctor, meaning a person enters a code on the learner’s device, with no webcam. Moodle offers Safe Exam Browser lockdown. LearnUpon, Litmos, 360Learning and Tovuti do not state proctoring on their public pages.
Can I self-host a TalentLMS alternative?
Yes, with three of the eight. LMS Advisor runs in our cloud or on your own PHP and MySQL server, with a one-time license available for self-hosted installs. Moodle is a self-hosted download by design. iSpring Learn offers an on-premise installation at an additional cost. LearnUpon, Absorb, Litmos, 360Learning and Tovuti are cloud only, by their own pages.
Which TalentLMS alternatives publish their prices?
Three do. iSpring Learn lists a Business plan from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually. 360Learning lists a Team plan at $8 per user a month, billed monthly, for up to 100 users. Tovuti lists one plan from $7,500 a year for 100 learners. Litmos publishes starting points: Foundation from $8,000 a year and Platinum from $15,000. LMS Advisor, LearnUpon and Absorb quote. All figures are from the vendors’ pricing pages in September or October 2026 and change without notice.
How do I move my courses out of TalentLMS?
TalentLMS exports users, courses and groups as CSV or Excel files plus the files you uploaded, but not whole-course packages, so a course built in its editor is rebuilt in the new system. SCORM, xAPI and cmi5 packages you own re-upload anywhere that supports them. Export completion records before the account closes, because the new LMS will not have that history unless you import it. LMS Advisor imports users and enrollments from CSV and we help plan the rest.
Get a tailored demo

Tell us why TalentLMS stopped fitting

Describe the exam, the content or the hosting rule that TalentLMS cannot meet. We will show you LMS Advisor on that requirement, quote on your numbers, and say plainly if another option on this page suits you better.

  • Walkthrough built around your programs
  • Cloud or self-hosted options
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.