Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16. Get early access to 30% off your first year.Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16 Get early access
Comparison guide

Perpetual license LMS options: who sells one and what it covers

A perpetual license is paid once and run for as long as you like, usually on your own server. Few LMS vendors still sell one. This guide compares the options that do, the open-source platforms that need no license at all, and the plans that look perpetual but renew every year, using each vendor’s own pages.

Key takeaways

  • Three of the ten platforms we checked sell a pay-once license: LMS Advisor (one-time license for self-hosted installs, quoted), Paradiso (perpetual on-premise license, no published price) and Tutor LMS (lifetime Pro license from $499).
  • Moodle, Open edX and Canvas LMS have no license fee at all, which is the cheapest license and the most expensive to run without a team.
  • iSpring’s licensing page says it has moved away from perpetual licenses. eFront, LearnDash and LifterLMS bill annually, even for software on your own server.
  • A perpetual license covers the right to run the software. Updates, support, hosting and custom work are separate lines, so get them in the quote.
  • Pay once wins for programs that run for years, budgets that arrive once, and headcounts that would grow a per-user bill. A subscription wins for a short program or a team with nobody to run a server.
  • LMS Advisor is our own product. We say where it fits, and each section says who should look elsewhere.

A perpetual license LMS is one you pay for once and run for as long as you choose, almost always on your own server, and in 2026 only a handful of vendors still sell one. Of the ten platforms we checked, three do: LMS Advisor, with a one-time license for self-hosted installs; Paradiso, with a perpetual on-premise license; and Tutor LMS, with a lifetime plugin license for WordPress. Three more, Moodle, Open edX and Canvas LMS, are open source with no license fee at all. The rest, including some that install on your own server, bill every year.

We are the LMS Advisor team, and LMS Advisor is our own product. It is listed first below because this is our site, not because a one-time license is right for everyone; the sections on subscriptions and open source say when it is not. Every vendor fact comes from that vendor’s pricing, licensing or deployment pages, checked in September or October 2026, with the source linked, and where a page did not state something the table says so.

What is a perpetual license LMS?

A perpetual license is a one-time payment for the right to run a specific version of the software indefinitely. The vendor does not switch it off when a term ends, and there is no per-learner or per-month bill for the software itself. The license almost never includes hosting, because the software runs on infrastructure you provide, and it does not automatically include updates or support: those are sold as a maintenance agreement, included for a fixed period, or written into the quote. The practical difference from a subscription is who carries the ongoing cost and who carries the ongoing work. With a subscription the vendor runs the platform and you pay for as long as you use it. With a perpetual license you run it and the payment stops.

Vendors use several words for the same thing: perpetual, one-time, lifetime, on-premise license or capital license. They also use “on-premise” for products that are still billed annually, so the word to check on a pricing page is the billing period, not the hosting model.

Which LMS vendors sell a perpetual license?

Few, and fewer each year, because subscription revenue is what software companies prefer. Among the platforms we checked, LMS Advisor offers a one-time license for standard self-hosted installs, quoted per organization on learner numbers and modules, with the update and support terms set out in the quote. Paradiso’s on-premise page describes “one perpetual license” with no per-user pricing surprises, and publishes no price. Tutor LMS lists a lifetime Pro license from $499, next to a $199 annual plan, for one WordPress site. iSpring’s licensing page states that it has moved away from perpetual licenses in favor of subscriptions, even though it installs on premise for an additional payment. eFront prices its on-premises edition as “Tailored” on a page where every plan is billed annually. LearnDash and LifterLMS, both self-hosted WordPress plugins, publish annual prices only.

Perpetual license LMS options compared

OptionPay-once license, as publishedWhat recursWhere it runsNotes
LMS Advisor (our product)Yes. One-time license for standard self-hosted installs, quoted on learner numbers and modulesYour hosting. Updates and support as written into the quote; a subscription is also offered, and our cloud is subscription onlyYour Linux server with PHP 8.1 or later and MySQL, or our cloud on subscriptionSame application in both places; custom features can be delivered with source code
Paradiso LMSYes. “One perpetual license” for the on-premise edition; no price publishedNot stated on the page we checkedInside your network, all data on site, can run fully offlineOpen source or proprietary not stated
Tutor LMSYes. Pro lifetime license from $499 for one site; Pro $199 a year otherwiseYour WordPress hostingYour WordPress siteFree core plugin; SCORM and proctoring through third parties or not listed
MoodleNo license to buy. Open source, GPLHosting, a partner or MoodleCloud (Starter $170 a year for 50 users, September 2026)Self-hosted download, MoodleCloud or a certified partnerSCORM 1.2 and AICC native; SCORM 2004 not natively supported per its FAQ
Open edXNo license to buy. Open source, AGPL v3Hosting and operations; the project recommends a service providerSelf-managed with Tutor (Docker), minimum 4 GB RAM, 2 CPUs, 8 GB diskBuilt for very large catalogs
Canvas LMSNo license to buy. Open source, AGPL v3Hosting and operations; Instructure sells a hosted editionYour own servers, per the project wikiAcademic model: terms, sections, gradebook
iSpring LMSNo. Licensing page says iSpring has moved away from perpetual licensesCloud from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually; on-premise at an additional payment, quotedCloud, or your infrastructure installed by iSpring’s engineersFormerly iSpring Learn
eFrontNo. On-premises priced as “Tailored”; all plans billed annuallyFrom $720 a month for 300 registered users or $1,600 a month for 100 active usersCloud, or your own servers behind your firewallFrom the company behind TalentLMS
LearnDashNo. $259, $399 or $599 a yearThe annual plan plus your WordPress hostingThe WordPress hosting you chooseUnlimited courses and learners on every plan
LifterLMSNo. Free core; bundles $398, $598 or $1,598 a year at full priceThe annual bundle plus your WordPress hostingYour WordPress siteFirst-year discount listed

Prices are as published on the date checked and change without notice. “Not stated” means the vendor’s public pages did not cover the point.

LMS Advisor: a one-time license for a self-hosted install

LMS Advisor is available on a one-time license for standard self-hosted installs, not only for custom builds: a single payment for the full application, quoted per organization on learner numbers and the modules you need. The quote sets out whether updates and support are included and for how long, because we do not promise lifetime updates and prefer to write the real terms down. Hosting is yours, on a Linux server with PHP 8.1 or later and MySQL, so there is no per-learner cloud bill afterwards. The subscription stays open as an alternative for self-hosted installs, and our cloud is subscription only, since hosting, backups and monitoring are ongoing costs.

Everything in the product is in the license: the Test Center for candidates outside any course, native proctoring with evidence kept on your server, SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI, cmi5, LTI 1.3, SAML single sign-on with SCIM, HR sync, branded mobile apps and the AI tools on your own API key. Custom features built on the platform can be delivered with their source code under the same one-time model. Nonprofits can ask for a discount or a tailored quote.

Who it suits: grant-funded and donor-funded projects, public bodies that can approve a capital purchase but not an open-ended subscription, certification bodies whose exam programs run for a decade, and training providers who cannot watch a per-learner fee grow with every enrollment. Who should look elsewhere: teams with nobody to run a server, short programs that will end within a year or two, and anyone who wants to read and change the source code of the platform itself. Our LMS one-time license page covers the terms, and pricing explains how a quote is built.

Paradiso LMS: a perpetual license on premise, price on request

Paradiso’s on-premise LMS page is the clearest perpetual claim among the enterprise vendors: one perpetual license, lower long-term cost of ownership than recurring SaaS subscriptions, no per-user pricing surprises, and a platform that operates entirely within your network with all data stored on site and can work fully offline behind your firewall. Its IT team adjusts the installation to your hardware, network and database preferences. What the page does not say is the price, what the license covers in updates and support, or whether the on-premise software is open source or proprietary; Paradiso also markets a separate open-source LMS offering, so ask which one you are being quoted.

Who it suits: enterprises and agencies that want a vendor-installed platform on their own hardware and are set up for quote-based procurement. Who should look elsewhere: buyers who need a published price or stated standards before a sales conversation.

Tutor LMS: a lifetime plugin license on WordPress

Tutor LMS is the one option here with a published pay-once price: Pro from $499 for a lifetime license on one site, against $199 a year, on top of a free core plugin. It runs on your WordPress site, styled by your theme, and is strongest at selling courses, with checkout, coupons and subscriptions through the WordPress ecosystem. The lifetime license is a plugin license, so hosting, the WordPress install and every other plugin remain your responsibility, and the exam side is thin: SCORM arrives through third-party plugins, proctoring is not listed, and SAML and SCIM are not on its integrations page.

Who it suits: a business on WordPress that sells courses and wants to stop paying annually for the plugin. Who should look elsewhere: anyone certifying people with exams that must stand up to a dispute, or training corporate clients who expect SSO and SCORM 2004. See LMS Advisor vs Tutor LMS.

Open source: no license fee at all

Moodle, Open edX and Canvas LMS have nothing to pay once because there is no license to buy. Moodle is GPL, and Open edX and Canvas are AGPL v3. The software keeps running whether or not you pay anyone, which is the property buyers want from a perpetual license, and the costs are hosting, the person who runs it, upgrades, plugins and any partner services. Moodle can also be bought hosted, as MoodleCloud from $170 a year for 50 users or through a certified partner. Open edX’s own README recommends a service provider and points self-managers to Tutor, its Docker-based distribution, which needs at least 4 GB of RAM, 2 CPUs and 8 GB of disk. Canvas publishes installation guides on its project wiki, and Instructure sells the hosted edition.

The catch is the same one a perpetual license has, in a sharper form: nobody is obliged to help you. Security patches arrive as new releases you must apply, and a plugin that breaks on upgrade is yours to fix or replace. Our free LMS guide and the self-hosted LMS options comparison cover the three in more detail.

Who it suits: organizations with developers or a partner, and a policy that favors open source. Who should look elsewhere: teams that want someone accountable for the platform, and anyone who needs SCORM 2004, cmi5 or native proctoring without a plugin search.

Plans that look perpetual but renew every year

Several products install on your own server and still bill annually, which surprises buyers who assume on-premise means pay once. iSpring LMS installs on premise for an additional payment, but its licensing page says the company has moved away from perpetual licenses toward subscriptions, so the on-premise edition sits on the same annual contract as the cloud, which starts at $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually. eFront’s on-premises edition is priced as “Tailored” on a pricing page headed “billed annually”, with cloud plans from $720 a month for 300 registered users or $1,600 a month for 100 active users. LearnDash is $259, $399 or $599 a year and LifterLMS bundles are $398, $598 or $1,598 a year at full price, both on your own WordPress hosting.

None of that makes them bad choices. It means the comparison with a perpetual license has to be done over the number of years the program will run, with the annual renewal written in, and with the add-ons that enterprise plans reveal only on the order form.

What a perpetual license usually leaves out

The license covers the software. It usually leaves out hosting, which you provide; updates and security patches beyond a stated period; support beyond a stated period; implementation, data migration and training; and custom development. Some vendors sell those as an annual maintenance percentage of the license price, some include a fixed period, and some, LMS Advisor among them, write the terms into the quote. Ask four questions before you sign: how long updates are included, what a later update costs, what support covers and for how long, and what happens to security patches after maintenance ends. A perpetual license with no patch route is a security problem waiting for a date.

When a perpetual license costs less than a subscription

Pay once wins when the program runs for years, when the budget arrives once, and when the headcount is large or growing. Published cloud plans show the scale of the recurring side: iSpring’s Business plan lists $8,286 a year at 100 users, and eFront’s Active plan lists $1,600 a month for 100 active users, billed annually, so three years is roughly $25,000 to $58,000 before add-ons, and more as users grow. A one-time license plus hosting and a maintenance line can land below that, and the gap widens with every year and every learner. Grant-funded projects, public bodies with a capital budget and certification programs that run for a decade are the usual buyers for that reason.

When a subscription is the better buy

A subscription wins when the program is short, when nobody on your side can run a server, or when you want the vendor accountable for uptime, backups and patches. It also wins when the headcount is small enough that per-user pricing stays modest, and when you expect to change platforms within two or three years, because a perpetual license you stop using is money spent. LMS Advisor sells a subscription for exactly those cases, in our cloud or on your server, and we quote both side by side so the decision is arithmetic rather than instinct. Our cloud LMS page covers the hosted route.

Questions to ask before buying a perpetual license

Ask what version the license covers and whether later major versions are included. Ask how long updates and support run and what they cost afterwards. Ask whether the license is tied to a server, a domain, a learner count or an organization, and what happens when the count grows. Ask how you get courses, completion records and exam evidence out if you leave, because a perpetual license on a platform you cannot export from is still lock-in. Ask whether custom work is delivered with source code. And ask the same questions of the open-source route, where the answers come from your own team rather than a vendor. The sources for the facts on this page: Paradiso on-premise LMS; Tutor LMS pricing; iSpring licensing, on-premise LMS and pricing; eFront pricing; LearnDash plans; LifterLMS pricing; Moodle license; Open edX README and Tutor requirements; Canvas LMS repository. Our one-time license terms are on the LMS Advisor facts page.

FAQ

Perpetual license questions

What is a perpetual license for an LMS?
A perpetual license is a one-time payment for the right to run a specific version of the software indefinitely, almost always on a server you control. It is the opposite of a subscription, which you pay for as long as you use the service. A perpetual license rarely includes hosting, and whether it includes updates and support, and for how long, is set by the vendor’s terms or your quote.
Which LMS vendors offer a perpetual or one-time license?
Of the platforms we checked in October 2026, LMS Advisor offers a one-time license for standard self-hosted installs, quoted on learner numbers and modules. Paradiso describes its on-premise edition as one perpetual license with no published price. Tutor LMS sells a lifetime Pro license from $499 for WordPress. iSpring says it has moved away from perpetual licenses, and eFront, LearnDash and LifterLMS publish annual prices only.
Is open source the same as a perpetual license?
No, although the budget shape is similar. Moodle (GPL), Open edX and Canvas LMS (AGPL v3) have no license fee at all, so there is nothing to pay once. What they do share with a perpetual license is that the software keeps running whether or not you pay anyone, and that hosting, updates and support are your responsibility or a paid partner’s.
Does a perpetual LMS license include updates?
Not by default. Most perpetual licenses cover the version you bought, with updates and support sold as an annual maintenance agreement or included for a fixed period. LMS Advisor writes the update and support terms into each quote and does not promise lifetime updates. Ask every vendor what happens to security patches after the maintenance period ends.
When does a perpetual license cost less than a subscription?
When the program runs for years and the headcount is large or growing. Published cloud plans show why: iSpring lists $8,286 a year at 100 users and eFront lists $1,600 a month for 100 active users, billed annually, so three years is roughly $25,000 to $58,000 before add-ons. A one-time license plus hosting and a maintenance line can land below that, but only if someone on your side runs the server.
Can I buy LMS Advisor on a one-time license and host it in your cloud?
No. The one-time license applies to self-hosted installs on your own server. Our cloud is subscription only, because hosting, backups and monitoring are ongoing costs. The same application runs in both places, so a team can start on a cloud subscription and later move to a self-hosted install on a one-time license.
Do nonprofits get a discount on a one-time license?
LMS Advisor offers nonprofits a discount or a tailored quote, both on request, and a one-time license suits grant-funded projects whose money arrives once. The other vendors here do not publish nonprofit terms for their pay-once options, so ask.
Free consultation

Tell us how your budget arrives

A grant, a capital line or an annual budget each suit a different way to pay. Describe yours, with the learner numbers and the server you have in mind, and we will quote the one-time license and the subscription side by side.

  • Reply within one business day
  • NDA before you share details
  • A straight answer on build, buy or customize

Request a free quote