Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16. Get early access to 30% off your first year.Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16 Get early access
LMS Advisor vs Absorb LMS

LMS Advisor vs Absorb LMS: which one fits your training?

Absorb is an enterprise cloud LMS with paid add-ons for authoring, analytics, content and AI agents. LMS Advisor puts proctored exams, outside candidates and self-hosting in the base product. Checked against Absorb’s own pages in October 2026.

Our honest take

Pick Absorb if you want a large course library, a built-in commission-free store, a SOC 2 vendor and turnkey Workday, ADP or UKG connectors, and your assessments are simple. Pick LMS Advisor if you run proctored or certification exams with rich question types, examine candidates who never enroll in a course, or want to self-host on a one-time license.

Absorb LMS is sold to enterprises as a core cloud LMS plus a family of add-ons: Absorb Create for authoring, Absorb Analyze for reporting, Absorb Amplify for a library of up to 20,000 courses, and Absorb Aura for AI agents. Its store is built in and commission-free, it holds SOC 2 Type 2, and it connects to Workday, ADP, UKG and SAP SuccessFactors.

LMS Advisor differs where exams and hosting are concerned. Its native assessment has 14 question types with proctoring on each exam, candidates can be examined without a course enrollment, and the product runs on your own server as well as our cloud, with a one-time license for that route. Below is where each product wins, with every Absorb fact taken from Absorb’s own site and help center.

Comparison

Feature by feature, as of October 2026

LMS Advisor compared with Absorb LMS
What we comparedLMS AdvisorAbsorb LMS
Platform
What it is AI-powered LMS and proctored exam platform in one codebase Enterprise cloud LMS with paid add-ons for authoring, analytics, content and AI
Hosting Yes:Our cloud, or self-hosted on your own cPanel or VPS server Partly:Multi-tenant SaaS on AWS in five regions. Their FAQ says no on-premises
Pricing Quote-based: cloud subscription or a one-time license for self-hosted installs Quote-based. The pricing page is a request form with learner ranges from 1 to 50 up to 25,000+. SSO, Analyze, Amplify and Create are paid add-ons
Content & standards
Built-in authoring Yes:Interactive modules, interactive video, Recording Studio, AI drafting, included Partly:Absorb Create add-on: browser builder with Create AI, PowerPoint conversion, screen recording, branching scenarios
Course library No:None. Bring your own content Yes:Absorb Amplify in three tiers, from over 500 to over 20,000 courses from 100+ publishers
SCORM, xAPI and cmi5 Yes:SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5 Partly:SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI and AICC. No multi-SCO packages. cmi5 not stated
LTI Partly:LTI 1.3 tool with deep linking and grade passback. Not an LTI consumer Partly:LTI 1.3 consumer only, with grade sync
Assessments & exams
Question types Yes:14 types in the exam bank, including coding, image hotspot, audio and video answers Partly:3 native types: multiple choice single, multiple choice multiple, text. Create quizzes add true/false, matching and sequencing
Question banks and timing Yes:Shared bank, pools, difficulty levels, negative marking, server-enforced time limit, item analysis Yes:Reusable question banks, randomized order, timed assessment, attempt limit, grade to pass
Exams without a course Yes:Test Center with its own candidate portal, email invites and one-time-code access Assessments are learning objects inside courses
Proctoring
Proctoring Yes:Native per exam: webcam snapshots, AI face checks, fullscreen lockdown, ID photo, device lock, violation limits Partly:Course Proctor is a person who enters credentials or an eight-digit code on the learner’s device before a weighted assessment. No webcam or lockdown
Certificates
Certificates Yes:Designer, automatic issue, expiry and renewal, revocation, public verification page Partly:PDF templates per course, expiry by period or fixed date, auto re-enrollment. Generated on demand, not stored. Public verification page not stated
AI
AI tools Yes:Course and question drafting, branded AI Tutor, grading suggestions, captions and translation. Anthropic or OpenAI, or off Yes:Absorb Aura agents, Create AI course and quiz generation, Intelligent Assist, recommendations, MCP connector
Identity & admin
Single sign-on and 2FA Yes:SAML 2.0, Google sign-in, passkeys, two-factor authentication, included Partly:SAML 2.0 and OpenID, described as an additional feature with an additional fee. Native 2FA not stated
SCIM provisioning Yes:SCIM 2.0 user and group provisioning from Okta, Entra ID and OneLogin No:Not stated. Provisioning is just-in-time through SAML attributes
Structure Yes:Branches, organizations with their own branding and sign-in page, groups, manager views Yes:One portal split into departments and groups, with per-department branding and locked department admins
Reporting Partly:Filterable report views with CSV, Excel and PDF export, audit log. No report builder Yes:Built-in reports plus the paid Analyze add-on with a report builder and BI dashboards. Exports are CSV and exclude audit history
Mobile
Mobile access Yes:iOS and Android apps. Video, audio and documents offline. Optional branded app, plus a PWA Yes:Absorb Learn app for iOS and Android with offline lessons, SAML sign-in and push notifications
Selling
Selling courses Partly:Through WooCommerce with our plugin. No native checkout Yes:Built-in commission-free cart with over 70 gateways, subscriptions, multi-currency and automatic tax
Integrations
API and connectors Yes:REST API v1, signed webhooks, HubSpot and Zoho CRM, BambooHR, Zoho People, Keka, Zoom, Google Meet Yes:REST API, signed webhooks, ADP, Workday, Dayforce, UKG Pro, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR, Salesforce, Zoom, Teams. Integrations typically require purchase
Security
Certifications No:No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or similar attestation Yes:SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR compliance and WCAG 2.0 AA stated. ISO 27001 not stated
Languages
Interface languages 9 languages including Hindi, Urdu (right to left), Swahili and Swedish Yes:36 learner interface languages listed. Right-to-left languages not available

Absorb LMS details were checked in October 2026 against Absorb LMS’s own public pages (sources below). Products and prices change, so confirm anything important with them before you decide. Absorb LMS is a trademark of its owner, used here only to identify the product.

Which one fits

Choosing between the two

LMS Advisor is the better fit if

  • You run certification or pre-hire exams that need webcam proctoring, ID capture and an evidence trail, not a person typing a code on the learner’s device.
  • Your assessments need coding, hotspot, audio or video answers rather than three question types.
  • Candidates sit exams without a course enrollment, invited by email or signed in with a one-time code.
  • You want SSO, SCIM, authoring and AI in the base price, or the LMS on your own server with a one-time license.

Absorb LMS is the better fit if

  • You want a ready-made library of thousands of courses from many publishers inside the LMS.
  • You sell courses and want a built-in, commission-free cart with many gateways and automatic tax.
  • Your HR system is Workday, ADP, UKG or SAP SuccessFactors, and your security review requires a SOC 2 vendor.
Where they differ

Where the two really differ

Six differences come up in nearly every Absorb conversation. The library, the store and enterprise connectors favor Absorb. Exams, question types and hosting favor LMS Advisor.

Two different ideas of a proctor

Absorb’s Course Proctor is a supervisor who enters credentials or an eight-digit code on the learner’s device before a weighted assessment. LMS Advisor’s proctoring is software on each exam: webcam snapshots, AI face checks, fullscreen lockdown, ID photo capture and violation limits, with the evidence kept for appeals.

Fourteen question types against three

Absorb’s native assessment offers multiple choice single, multiple choice multiple and text, with true/false, matching and sequencing in Create quizzes. Our exam bank has 14 types including coding questions that run against test cases, image hotspot, audio and video answers.

Candidates who never join a course

Absorb assessments are learning objects inside courses. Our Test Center has its own candidate portal with email invites and one-time-code sign-in, which is how certification bodies and hiring teams examine outsiders.

The library is Absorb’s

Absorb Amplify offers from over 500 to over 20,000 courses from 100+ publishers, and Absorb Create builds new ones. LMS Advisor has no library, so content comes from your team, SCORM vendors or AI drafts an author approves.

Add-ons against one price

Absorb sells SSO, Create, Analyze, Amplify and Aura as paid add-ons, and says integrations typically require purchase. LMS Advisor includes SAML and SCIM, authoring, AI and its connectors in the product, and quotes on learners, modules and hosting.

Cloud only against your own server

Absorb runs as multi-tenant SaaS on AWS and answers the on-premises question with no. LMS Advisor runs in our cloud or installs on ordinary cPanel or VPS hosting with a one-time license for that route.

In depth

The details that decide an Absorb comparison

What is in the box

Absorb’s core LMS covers courses, curricula, instructor-led sessions, a learner app, departments and groups, a built-in store and a set of reports. Around it sit the add-ons: Absorb Create for authoring, Absorb Analyze for a report builder and BI dashboards, Absorb Amplify for the content library, Absorb Skills, Absorb Engage, Absorb Infuse and Absorb Aura for AI agents. SAML single sign-on is described as an additional feature with an additional fee, and the integrations page says connectors typically require purchase.

LMS Advisor is one product. Authoring, interactive video, SAML and SCIM, proctoring, the Test Center, certificates, AI and the HR and CRM connectors are all in it. There is no library and no report builder, and we say so on every page, so a buyer compares one quote against Absorb’s base plus the add-ons they would need.

Exams and proctoring

Absorb’s assessment learning object has three question types, reusable question banks, randomized order, a timed assessment and an attempt limit. Its Course Proctor feature puts a person in the room: a course editor, supervisor or admin enters credentials or an eight-digit code on the learner’s device before a weighted assessment starts. That suits a supervised classroom and does nothing for a remote exam.

LMS Advisor runs proctoring in software, per exam: periodic webcam snapshots, AI face monitoring for no face or a second face, fullscreen lockdown, logged tab switches and copy or paste, ID photo capture, device lock and violation limits that can end an attempt. The question bank has 14 types with pools, difficulty levels, negative marking and nightly item analysis, and the Test Center examines candidates who are not enrolled anywhere, with an appeal step.

Standards, identity and integrations

Absorb uploads SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI and AICC packages, without multi-SCO support, and acts as an LTI 1.3 consumer. LMS Advisor runs SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS and cmi5, and acts as an LTI 1.3 tool with grade passback, the opposite role. If you need the LMS to launch publisher tools, Absorb has that direction; if a campus LMS needs to launch your exams, we have it.

Absorb provisions users just in time through SAML attributes and does not state SCIM or native two-factor authentication. LMS Advisor provisions users and groups over SCIM 2.0 from Okta, Entra ID and OneLogin and adds passkeys and app-based two-factor authentication. On HR connectors Absorb is broader, with ADP, Workday, Dayforce, UKG Pro and SAP SuccessFactors; LMS Advisor syncs BambooHR, Zoho People and Keka and takes CSV uploads from anything else.

Selling, hosting and certification

Absorb’s store is built in, commission-free and connected to over 70 payment gateways with subscriptions, multi-currency and automatic tax, once Absorb support enables it. LMS Advisor sells through your WooCommerce store with our plugin and has no checkout of its own. Absorb runs only in its AWS cloud and holds SOC 2 Type 2. LMS Advisor runs in our cloud or on your own server, where your own controls apply, and holds no attestation.

Switching

Moving from Absorb to LMS Advisor

Export what you own

Download your SCORM, xAPI and AICC packages, Create exports, videos and documents, and run the user, enrollment and certificate reports to CSV. Certificates are generated on demand in Absorb, so download the ones you must keep.

Upload content as lessons

In LMS Advisor, create courses and upload SCORM and xAPI packages, videos and documents as lessons. AICC packages need re-export as SCORM. Rebuild native assessments in the question bank.

Map departments to organizations

Each Absorb department becomes an organization with its own branding, sign-in page and managers. Import users by CSV with their organization, or connect SAML and SCIM so the directory creates them.

Rebuild exams, store and go live

Set up proctored exams in the Test Center, connect WooCommerce if you sell courses, reissue current certificates with their expiry dates, and point learners at the new sign-in before you close the Absorb portal.

FAQ

Questions Absorb users ask us

Does Absorb LMS have proctored exams?
Not in the webcam sense. Absorb’s Course Proctor is a person who enters credentials or an eight-digit code on the learner’s device before a weighted assessment. Its pages describe no webcam, lockdown or identity checks. LMS Advisor’s proctoring is native and set per exam, with webcam snapshots, AI face checks, lockdown, ID capture and violation limits.
Can LMS Advisor import my Absorb courses?
There is no direct Absorb importer. SCORM and xAPI packages, including Absorb Create exports, upload to LMS Advisor as lessons, and videos and documents upload as they are. Users come across by CSV or SCIM. Native Absorb assessments are rebuilt in our question bank.
Which one is cheaper?
Both are quote-based. Absorb’s pricing page is a request form, and SSO, Create, Analyze, Amplify and most integrations are extra. LMS Advisor quotes on learner numbers, modules and hosting with SSO, SCIM, authoring, AI and connectors included, and a self-hosted install can be bought on a one-time license. Compare three-year totals with the add-ons you would use.
Does LMS Advisor have a content library like Absorb Amplify?
No. Absorb Amplify offers from over 500 to over 20,000 courses from many publishers. LMS Advisor has no library, so content comes from your team, SCORM vendors or AI drafts that an author approves.
Can either product run on my own server?
Only LMS Advisor. Absorb’s help center says it is multi-tenant SaaS on AWS and answers the on-premises question with no. LMS Advisor installs on ordinary cPanel or VPS hosting, updates from the admin, and is the route where the one-time license applies.
Does LMS Advisor connect to Workday or ADP?
Not with a ready-made connector. Our HR sync covers BambooHR, Zoho People and Keka, and any other system, including Workday and ADP, uses a CSV upload or the REST API and webhooks. Absorb lists turnkey connectors for ADP, Workday, Dayforce, UKG Pro and SAP SuccessFactors, typically purchased separately.
How do the two handle SCIM and single sign-on?
Absorb offers SAML 2.0 and OpenID as a paid additional feature, provisions users just in time through SAML attributes, and does not state SCIM or native two-factor authentication. LMS Advisor includes SAML 2.0, SCIM 2.0 provisioning, Google sign-in, passkeys and two-factor authentication.
Get in touch

Bring your Absorb add-on list to a demo

We will show which of them are in the base product here, and be plain about the library and report builder we do not have.

  • Personalized demo
  • Deployment and security answers
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.