Self-hosted LMS options compared: open source, licensed and WordPress
Most learning platforms are cloud only, so the list of systems you can run on your own server is short. This guide compares ten self-hosted LMS options on what their own pages publish: the license, what the server has to be, who installs and updates it, and whether exams can be proctored without a second vendor.
Key takeaways
- Self-hosted LMS options fall into three groups: open source you run yourself (Moodle, Open edX, Canvas), licensed products with an on-premise edition (LMS Advisor, iSpring LMS, eFront, Paradiso) and WordPress plugins on your own hosting (LearnDash, LifterLMS, Tutor LMS).
- Open source has no license fee, but the project pages themselves recommend a hosting provider, and SCORM 2004, SSO and proctoring are often plugins or partners.
- Only three options publish a price for the self-hosted edition: the WordPress plugins. LMS Advisor, iSpring, eFront and Paradiso quote.
- Native webcam proctoring on a self-hosted install is rare. LMS Advisor has it in the product; iSpring uses a partner; the others do not state it.
- LMS Advisor is our own product. It is listed first because this is our site, and each section says who should look elsewhere.
- Whatever you pick, self-hosting moves patching, backups, upgrades and uptime onto your team. Budget for a person, not only a server.
The self-hosted LMS options worth a shortlist in 2026 come in three groups: open-source platforms you run yourself (Moodle, Open edX and Canvas LMS), licensed products with an on-premise edition (LMS Advisor, iSpring LMS, eFront and Paradiso) and WordPress plugins that live on your own hosting (LearnDash, LifterLMS and Tutor LMS). The right one depends on whether you want to own the code, own the server or simply keep the data in a place your policy approves, and on whether exams carry consequences.
We are the LMS Advisor team, and LMS Advisor is our own product. It is listed first below because this is our site, not because it is the right answer for everyone. Each section says who the option suits and who should look elsewhere, and every vendor fact was taken from that vendor’s own pricing, documentation or source repository in September or October 2026, with the source linked. Where a vendor’s pages did not state something, the table says so rather than guessing.
Why do teams want a self-hosted LMS?
Teams self-host for control over data, cost or the network, and rarely for fun. A regulator, a client contract or an internal policy says learner records and exam recordings stay in a named country or on named infrastructure. A public body or a university already pays for servers and a team to run them. A program has to work inside a private network. Or a per-learner cloud subscription has grown past what a license plus hosting would cost. Our self-hosted LMS page covers those reasons in detail; this guide is about which platforms can actually do it.
The list is short because most LMS vendors are cloud only. TalentLMS, Docebo, Thinkific, LearnUpon, Absorb LMS, 360Learning, Litmos, Tovuti, LearnWorlds, Skilljar and Kajabi all state a hosted service with no self-hosted edition on the pages we checked; Absorb’s FAQ says no on-premises outright. If one of those is on your shortlist and self-hosting is a requirement, the requirement loses.
How we compared the self-hosted LMS options
We checked each vendor’s own pages for five things: the license and its published price, what the server has to be and who installs it, which content standards the platform supports natively, whether exams can be proctored without a second vendor, and who the vendor says the product is for. We did not score the options, because a certification body and a WordPress site owner want opposite things. Where a page did not state a fact, the table says “not stated” rather than filling the gap from memory. iSpring Learn was renamed iSpring LMS in late 2025, a name change only, so both names appear in vendor material.
Self-hosted LMS options compared
| Option | License and price, as published | Where it runs and who installs it | Standards | Native proctoring |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LMS Advisor (our product) | Licensed. Quote-based: subscription or one-time license for a self-hosted install, subscription in our cloud | Your Linux server with PHP 8.1 or later and MySQL, a VPS or a capable cPanel account. Installed by you or us; migrations, backups and health checks run from the admin area | SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5, LTI 1.3 tool provider | Yes, set per exam, evidence kept on your server |
| Moodle | Open source, GPL. No license fee. MoodleCloud Starter listed at $170 a year for 50 users (September 2026) | Self-hosted download, MoodleCloud or a Moodle Certified Partner | SCORM 1.2 and AICC. Its own FAQ says SCORM 2004 is not natively supported; xAPI through plugins | Safe Exam Browser lockdown documented; no webcam proctoring in core |
| Open edX | Open source, AGPL v3. No license fee | Self-managed with Tutor, the Docker-based distribution: minimum 4 GB RAM, 2 CPUs, 8 GB disk; 8 GB, 4 CPUs and 25 GB recommended. The project README recommends a service provider | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Canvas LMS | Open source, AGPL v3. No license fee; Instructure also sells a hosted edition | Your own servers, following the Quick Start and Production Start guides on the project wiki | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| iSpring LMS (formerly iSpring Learn) | Licensed. Cloud from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually. On-premise at an additional payment, quoted | Your infrastructure, to requirements iSpring’s engineers write per project. Their team installs over remote access in about four business days; your IT team installs updates from manuals | SCORM 1.2 and 2004; xAPI mentioned | Through the OctoProctor partner |
| eFront | Licensed. Cloud from $720 a month for 300 registered users or $1,600 a month for 100 active users, billed annually. On-premises price listed as “Tailored” | Your own servers, behind your firewall | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Paradiso LMS | Licensed. “One perpetual license” for the on-premise edition; no price published | Inside your network with all data on site; can run fully offline | Not stated on the pages we checked | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| LearnDash | WordPress plugin. $259, $399 or $599 a year; hosting extra | The WordPress hosting you choose | SCORM 1.2 and 2004 and xAPI through third-party add-ons | No. The Integrity add-on blocks concurrent logins, copy, paste and right-click |
| LifterLMS | WordPress plugin. Free core; bundles $398, $598 or $1,598 a year at full price | Your WordPress site | SCORM through a third-party integration; xAPI listed | Not listed |
| Tutor LMS | WordPress plugin. Free core; Pro $199 a year for one site, lifetime from $499 | Your WordPress site | SCORM through third-party plugins | None listed |
Prices are as published on each vendor’s pricing page on the date checked and change without notice. “Not stated” means the vendor’s public pages did not cover the point, not that the feature is absent.
LMS Advisor: a licensed LMS on ordinary PHP and MySQL hosting
LMS Advisor is a licensed, closed-source LMS and exam platform that installs on a Linux server with PHP 8.1 or later and MySQL, which means a VPS or a well-specified cPanel account rather than a Kubernetes cluster. The same application runs in our cloud, so a team can start hosted and move to its own server later, and a self-hosted install can be bought on a subscription or a one-time license, quoted on learner numbers and modules. Database migrations, backups, health checks and a security scanner run from the admin area, which is the part of self-hosting that usually needs a developer on other platforms.
The feature set does not shrink on your server: SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5, LTI 1.3 as a tool provider, SAML single sign-on with SCIM provisioning, HR sync, branded mobile apps and the AI tools, which call your own Anthropic or OpenAI key. Exams are the reason most teams pick it for self-hosting: native proctoring is set per exam, with webcam snapshots, AI face checks, fullscreen lockdown, ID photo capture and violation limits, and the evidence never leaves a server you administer. The Test Center examines candidates who are not enrolled in any course, which certification bodies need and most LMSs lack.
Who it suits: organizations that certify or train with exams that carry consequences, public bodies and NGOs with a server policy or a one-time budget, and teams leaving a self-hosted Moodle who want to keep control without the plugin maintenance. Who should look elsewhere: teams that want to read and change the source code, anyone selling courses to the public who needs a storefront in the LMS (checkout runs through WooCommerce), and anyone who needs a ready-made course library. Our self-hosted LMS page lists exactly what your team takes on.
Moodle: the free open-source default
Moodle is the free, open-source LMS under the GPL, available as a self-hosted download, as MoodleCloud (Starter listed at $170 a year for 50 users in September 2026) or through a Moodle Certified Partner. It is the most common self-hosted LMS in the world for a reason: no license fee, full freedom to read and change the code, a very large plugin directory and question types such as calculated and Cloze that corporate products rarely match. Built-in activities include Page, Lesson and Quiz, and Safe Exam Browser lockdown is documented for quizzes.
The trade is maintenance and standards. Hosting, upgrades, backups and plugin compatibility are your job or your partner’s, and major releases arrive on a fixed schedule whether or not your plugins are ready. Moodle supports SCORM 1.2 and AICC natively, and its own FAQ says SCORM 2004 is not natively supported; xAPI and cmi5 come through plugins. Webcam proctoring is not in core. Selling runs on PayPal enrollment as standard, with other gateways as plugins.
Who it suits: organizations with developers or a partner, a plugin their teaching depends on, or a policy that favors open source. Who should look elsewhere: small teams with nobody to run a server, and anyone who needs SCORM 2004, cmi5 or native webcam proctoring without a plugin hunt. Our LMS Advisor vs Moodle page and the Moodle migration guide cover both directions.
Open edX: open source for large course catalogs, run with Tutor
Open edX is the platform behind edX, released under the AGPL v3, with Studio for authoring and the LMS for delivery. The project’s own README is unusually candid about self-hosting: it says the maintainers strongly recommend using a service provider to run the software for you, and that a self-managed production instance is possible using Tutor, the community-supported Docker-based distribution. Tutor’s requirements page lists a minimum of 4 GB of RAM, 2 CPUs and 8 GB of disk, with 8 GB, 4 CPUs and 25 GB recommended, Docker 24 or later with Docker Compose 2, any 64-bit UNIX-like system, and ports 80 and 443 open. A bare-metal install without Docker is described as uncommon and mostly undocumented.
That makes Open edX a good fit for a team that already runs containers and wants a platform built for very large learner counts and MOOC-style courses, and a poor fit for a team that was hoping to drop files onto a cPanel account. Content standards, SSO and proctoring were not covered on the pages we checked, so verify them against the current release notes and the XBlock catalog before relying on them.
Who it suits: universities, large training programs and vendors with an engineering team that is comfortable with Docker. Who should look elsewhere: small and mid-size organizations without that team, and anyone who needs a packaged answer for proctored certification exams.
Canvas LMS: open source from Instructure, for institutions
Canvas LMS is released by Instructure under the AGPL v3, and its repository links to Quick Start and Production Start installation guides on the project wiki. It is the open-source edition of the Canvas that many universities and school systems use as a hosted service from Instructure, which is the route the company sells. The self-hosted edition gives an institution the same core platform with no license fee, at the cost of running a Ruby on Rails application with its own database, job workers and file storage.
Canvas is built around the academic calendar: courses, terms, sections, gradebooks and assignments. Corporate concepts such as compliance due dates, certificate expiry and candidate exams outside a course are not what it is designed for. Standards and proctoring were not stated on the pages we checked, so confirm them in the current documentation.
Who it suits: colleges, school districts and academic programs with an IT department that prefers open source and wants parity with hosted Canvas. Who should look elsewhere: companies, certification bodies and training providers, whose needs sit outside the academic model.
iSpring LMS: a cloud product with a paid on-premise install
iSpring LMS, renamed from iSpring Learn in late 2025, is a corporate LMS sold per active user in the cloud, with a published Business plan from $6.91 per user a month at 100 users, billed annually, and quotes below 100 users and for Enterprise. Its on-premise page says the full feature set is available on your own infrastructure for an additional payment, that iSpring’s engineers write tailored system requirements per project, that the distribution and configuration arrive within two business days and installation takes about two more over remote access, and that your IT team installs later updates from detailed manuals or with iSpring’s help. The iSpring Suite desktop authoring tool is bundled with every plan.
Standards are SCORM 1.2 and 2004 per the upload documentation, with xAPI mentioned on the features page. Proctoring is through the OctoProctor partner integration, which handles monitoring, recording and identity checks at a cost the pages do not state. iSpring’s licensing page says the company has moved away from perpetual licenses in favor of subscriptions, so plan on an annual contract even on premise unless your quote says otherwise.
Who it suits: teams that author in iSpring Suite, want a published per-user price and a ready-made course library, and have a server policy the on-premise edition satisfies. Who should look elsewhere: organizations that examine candidates outside any course, need SCIM provisioning or want proctoring without a partner contract. See LMS Advisor vs iSpring Learn for the row-by-row comparison.
eFront and Paradiso: enterprise products with an on-premises edition
eFront, from the company behind TalentLMS, sells two cloud plans billed annually, Registered from $720 a month for 300 registered users and Active from $1,600 a month for 100 active users, plus an on-premises edition priced as “Tailored” that its deployment page describes as hosted on your own servers behind your firewall, with the installation customized to your needs. Content standards and proctoring were not stated on the pages we checked, so ask for them in writing.
Paradiso LMS sells an on-premise edition that its page says runs entirely within your network with all data stored on site, can work fully offline behind your firewall, and is sold as “one perpetual license” with no per-user pricing surprises. No price is published, and the page does not say whether the software is open source or proprietary; Paradiso also markets a separate open-source LMS offering. Treat the perpetual claim as a starting point for the quote conversation, and ask what the license covers in updates and support.
Who they suit: enterprises that want a vendor-installed, vendor-supported LMS on their own hardware and are comfortable with quote-based pricing. Who should look elsewhere: buyers who need published prices or stated standards before a sales call, and smaller teams the pricing floors exclude.
LearnDash, LifterLMS and Tutor LMS: WordPress plugins on your own hosting
The three WordPress plugins are self-hosted by definition: they run on whatever WordPress hosting you already pay for, styled by your theme, and the LMS data lives in your WordPress database. LearnDash is listed at $259, $399 or $599 a year with unlimited courses and learners, hosting extra. LifterLMS has a free core plugin with bundles at $398, $598 or $1,598 a year at full price. Tutor LMS has a free core, Pro at $199 a year for one site, and a lifetime license from $499, the only perpetual price among the ten options here.
Where they fall short is the enterprise and exam side. SCORM and xAPI arrive through third-party add-ons such as GrassBlade or Tin Canny rather than natively. None of the three lists webcam proctoring; LearnDash’s Integrity add-on blocks concurrent logins, copy, paste and right-click, which is cheating deterrence rather than proctoring. SAML SSO and SCIM are not among the listed features, and sign-in is handled at the WordPress level. Selling, on the other hand, is where they are strongest, with native checkout, memberships, subscriptions and coupons that enterprise LMSs charge extra for.
Who they suit: businesses that already run on WordPress and sell courses or memberships, with simple quizzes. Who should look elsewhere: anyone certifying people with exams that must stand up to a dispute, or training corporate clients who expect SSO and SCORM 2004 without a plugin chain. Our LearnDash, LifterLMS and Tutor LMS comparisons and the migrate from LearnDash guide go deeper.
What self-hosting puts on your team
Every option on this page moves the same work from the vendor to you, and the only difference is how much of it the product automates. Your team takes on the server and its operating system patches, TLS certificates, database backups and restore tests, the application upgrades and whatever plugins or add-ons they break, email delivery, uptime monitoring, and the retention and deletion of personal data on the schedule your policy sets. For proctored exams, the webcam snapshots and audio clips are the most sensitive data the organization holds, so the server also needs encrypted storage and a named owner for access requests.
Ask each vendor what it has automated. LMS Advisor runs migrations, backups and health checks from the admin area and ships a security scanner. iSpring installs for you and leaves updates to your IT team with manuals. Open edX via Tutor packages the whole stack in Docker but expects you to operate Docker. Moodle and the WordPress plugins leave most of it to you or your hosting partner. The honest budget line is a person who can patch a server and restore a backup, on call, for as long as the platform runs.
How to choose a self-hosted LMS
Start with the exam requirement, because it is the hardest gap to close later. If exams carry consequences, the list of self-hosted options with proctoring in the product or through a named partner is two long: LMS Advisor and iSpring LMS. Then settle the ownership question: if the policy requires open source, it is Moodle, Open edX or Canvas, and the choice between them follows the audience, with Moodle and Canvas for academic programs and Open edX for very large catalogs. If the policy only requires your own server, the licensed products save you the maintenance that open source leaves to you.
After that, check the standards your existing content needs, SCORM 2004 and multi-SCO packages especially, and whether SSO and SCIM are in the product or in a plugin. Only then compare price, and compare it over three years including the person who will run the server. A one-time license, a free license and an annual subscription look very different at year three. Ask every vendor, us included, how you get courses, records and exam evidence back out, and what the renewal looks like, before you sign. The sources for the facts on this page: Open edX README and Tutor requirements; Canvas LMS repository; Moodle license; iSpring on-premise LMS, pricing and licensing; eFront pricing and deployment; Paradiso on-premise LMS; LearnDash plans; LifterLMS pricing; Tutor LMS pricing.