Electrical Contractors

Electrical apprenticeship LMS for IEC, ABC and JATC training programs

Teach NEC-based related instruction online or hybrid, run year-end exams you can defend and hand your OJT system clean completion records.

An electrical apprenticeship LMS is the platform a sponsor uses to teach related instruction online or hybrid, test apprentices at the end of each year and keep the progress records a registration agency reviews. For IEC and ABC chapters, contractor sponsors and JATCs adding local courses, LMS Advisor is our top pick: timed year courses, weekly live classes, proctored year-end exams and verifiable certificates.

This guide is for apprenticeship directors, training coordinators and instructors who run electrical related technical instruction (RTI): IEC and ABC chapter staff, local JATC training directors, group sponsors, large merit-shop contractors with their own registered program, and community colleges teaching RTI under contract. It covers real classroom hours, the split between an LMS and apprenticeship software, building and testing four years of NEC-based instruction, and how the options compare. LMS Advisor is our platform. It is the RTI and testing layer, not an on-the-job hour logbook, so it sits next to your OJT system rather than replacing it. For the wider picture of safety, code update and CE training, see our electrical contractor training software hub.

How many classroom hours do electrical apprentices need in 2026?

The federal rule sets a floor. Your curriculum, approved standards and state license push the real number higher.

The federal number is a recommendation

The standards of apprenticeship in 29 CFR 29.5(b)(4) ask for "organized, related instruction in technical subjects related to the occupation" and add that "a minimum of 144 hours for each year of apprenticeship is recommended." Under 29.5(b)(2) the program term is measured by on-the-job learning (at least 2,000 hours) in a time-based program, by attained competency in a competency-based program, or by a blend in a hybrid program. The BLS describes the usual electrical route as a 4- or 5-year apprenticeship with about 2,000 paid OJT hours a year.

What electrical programs actually schedule

Electrical curricula plan well above 144 hours. The numbers below come from each organization's own pages (as of September 2026):

  • IBEW/NECA inside wireman programs. The Houston Electrical JATC runs a four-year program with at least 8,000 OJT hours and 180 classroom hours a year, one night a week for four hours, generally September to June.
  • IEC chapters. IEC National describes a four-year program with a minimum of 8,000 OJT hours and 576 hours of classroom instruction at more than 70 training locations.
  • NCCER Electrical. NCCER's electrical curriculum has four levels aligned with the 2026 NEC and 682.5 recommended hours including Core. ABC chapters are among its main users.
  • California trainees. Under 8 CCR 296.2, an electrician trainee counts as enrolled by completing at least 150 hours of classroom instruction a year from an approved educational provider.

That spread matters in setup: a program on 180 hours a year and one on 144 need different lesson minimum times.

License hours shape the program too

State licensing rules decide how much a clean record is worth to the apprentice. Texas Occupations Code chapter 1305 requires at least 8,000 hours of on-the-job training under a master electrician for a journeyman license and 4,000 hours for a residential wireman (or an approved career and technology education program). A journeyman lineman needs 7,000 hours of training in a US Department of Labor approved apprenticeship, or 3-1/2 years of experience as a journeyman lineman in Texas. Texas apprentices can also meet their continuing education rule by enrolling in a department-registered apprenticeship training program, according to 16 TAC 73.25.

The March 2026 DOL circulars in one paragraph

On March 9, 2026 the Department of Labor released three circulars and a bulletin on program design, state agency roles, completion rates and 30-day registration decisions, with a stated goal of 1 million active apprentices. It is guidance, and the text of 29 CFR part 29 did not change. If your program moves toward a competency-based or hybrid design, exam results carry more weight, so testing matters more.

Which jobs belong in an LMS and which in apprenticeship software?

Asking one tool to do both jobs is the classic mistake. Here is the split.

JobWhere it belongsWhy
Year courses, lessons, recorded demosLMSContent delivery with time and order controls
Night class schedule and attendanceLMSLive sessions and check-in sit next to the course
Mid-terms, finals, challenge testsLMS test engineQuestion pools, proctoring, evidence
Certificates per yearLMSIssued on completion or pass, with verification
OJT hours and supervisor approvalsApprenticeship softwareLogged on the job site, approved by the journeyman or foreman
Wage steps and RAPIDS or state agency reportingApprenticeship software or agency systemNeeds the full OJT record and agency formats

The apprenticeship vendors draw the same line. GoSprout says an LMS "handles course delivery and grades but cannot manage OJT schedules, wage steps, or compliance audits," and offers "pre-built RAPIDS, WIPS, and PIRL exports." ApprentiScope lets supervisors "review and approve submitted OJT hours with a single tap" (both as of September 2026). LMS Advisor does none of that. It sends the RTI side across: webhooks fire on enrollment, completion and certificate issued, the REST API v1 supports custom integrations (confirm the endpoints you need in a demo), and a CSV or Excel export per cohort works when there is no integration yet.

How do you build a four-year electrical RTI program online or hybrid?

This pattern fits a chapter licensing IEC or NCCER content, a JATC adding local courses or a contractor writing its own. You bring the curriculum, and LMS Advisor supplies structure, timing, testing and records.

One course per year, units in teaching order

Create a course for each apprenticeship year and a section for each unit. A first-year course might run through electrical safety, trade math, DC theory and an introduction to the code book, while a fourth-year course covers motor controls, fire alarm systems, load calculations and exam preparation. Set a lesson minimum time on each lesson so the total matches your approved hours, turn on sequential progression so units open in order, and drip each unit a set number of days after enrollment so a cohort moves through the year together.

A weekly live night per year level

Many electrical programs keep one live class a week per year level. IEC Chesapeake's E-Apprenticeship, for example, delivers online lessons 24/7 with weekly live instructor sessions from Monday for Year 1 through Thursday for Year 4, and describes 36 lessons per year plus labs, mid-terms and finals (as of September 2026). In LMS Advisor, add each evening as a live session lesson through Zoom or Google Meet from the virtual classroom. Attendance is taken by hand or by QR check-in.

Teaching code lookups on video

Finding the right article and table quickly is a skill electricians need on the licensing exam and on the job. Record an instructor working through a lookup with screen plus camera in the Recording Studio, then use interactive video to add a timestamped question after each step. A wrong answer rewinds the apprentice to the part they missed. Apprentices use their own copy of the current NEC, so you teach the method without reproducing the code text.

Labs stay in the shop

Conduit bending, terminations and motor control wiring happen on lab nights, not on a laptop. Schedule each lab night in the course and check apprentices in by QR code, so lab attendance sits in the same record as online lessons. If an instructor scores a lab write-up against a rubric, run it as an assignment: AI-assisted rubric grading suggests a grade and the instructor approves it. Hands-on skill sign-offs that count toward OJT still belong in your apprenticeship system.

Want to see a full apprenticeship year built this way? Book a demo and bring one unit of your curriculum.

How do you run year-end exams you can defend?

The year-end test decides whether an apprentice moves up, so it is the result most likely to be challenged. Three decisions make it defensible: the source of the questions, the item types and the supervision.

Loading a licensed test bank

IEC describes standardized written tests at the end of each apprentice year, derived from its national four-year curriculum and test bank, and chapters license that curriculum under published conditions of use. Before you load any publisher's items into an LMS, check that the license allows it. Once cleared, questions go into the question bank with difficulty levels (AI auto-tagging can label them by topic), exams draw from pools, and negative marking is available if your blueprint uses it.

Items that fit electrical work

  • Image hotspot on drawings. Show a one-line diagram, a panel schedule or a ladder diagram and ask the apprentice to click the overcurrent device that is sized wrong or the missing bonding jumper.
  • Calculation questions. Write several versions of each voltage drop or box fill question and put them in one pool.
  • Audio and video answers. Let an apprentice explain a troubleshooting approach out loud or on camera for an instructor to review. Confirm in a demo how these answers are graded before you count them toward a pass mark.
  • Essay and file-upload items. Use them for reflection only. In the Test Center they are screening items and do not count toward the score.

Proctoring settings for a year-end test

Weekly quizzes can stay unproctored. For mid-terms, finals and challenge tests, turn on native proctoring for that exam: periodic webcam and screen snapshots, AI face monitoring for no face or a second face, fullscreen lockdown, logged tab switching and copy or paste, ID photo capture, single-session and device lock, virtual-machine detection and an honesty pledge. Set the violation limit with care, and confirm in a demo what happens when an apprentice reaches it. Logged events and snapshots go into an evidence trail you open when an apprentice appeals. Plan these exams on a laptop or desktop with a webcam.

A challenge test for an apprentice with prior experience works the same way. Build it as a separate exam, proctor it, and let your committee decide the credit under its own policy.

What progress records will your registration agency ask for?

29.5(b)(6) calls for "periodic review and evaluation of the apprentice's performance on the job and in related instruction; and the maintenance of appropriate progress records," and 29.5(b)(23) covers the "recording and maintenance of all records concerning apprenticeship as may be required" by the Office of Apprenticeship or the state agency. For the RTI half, LMS Advisor keeps:

  • Lesson progress and course completions per apprentice, cohort and employer
  • Live class and lab attendance
  • Exam attempts, scores and the proctoring evidence behind them
  • Certificates issued per year, each with a public verification page
  • Audit logs and data retention settings

Report views export to CSV, Excel or PDF, and there is no drag-and-drop report builder. Agree a retention period before the first cohort starts. Our table of training records retention requirements is a useful starting point.

What do IEC chapters, ABC chapters, JATCs and contractor sponsors each need?

IEC and ABC chapters: many member contractors in one class

A chapter class mixes apprentices from a dozen member firms. Put each firm in its own organization and each class in a group. Manager views let a member contractor's supervisor follow their own apprentices' progress and exam results without seeing anyone else's. ABC says its 67 chapters give members access to more than 450 government-registered apprenticeship programs in more than 20 trades, and it works with NCCER, its educational affiliate, on curriculum. NCCER credentials require an NCCER-accredited organization, so check NCCER's rules before you move its module tests into any LMS.

JATCs: local courses and tests next to the national curriculum

IBEW/NECA programs already have a national system: the electrical training ALLIANCE delivers full-length courses for IBEW members and NECA personnel on ProTech Skills Institute's LMS, and its apprenticeship pages list outside lineman, inside wireman, installer technician and residential wireman classifications. LMS Advisor does not replace that. A local JATC uses it for what the national platform does not cover: local courses, journeyman upgrade classes and local tests. JATCs that want data on their own server can self-host on ordinary VPS or cPanel hosting (see security and data ownership), with SAML SSO and SCIM for staff and phone login for apprentices.

Contractor sponsors: RTI, onboarding and safety in one place

A merit-shop contractor with its own registered program can run RTI, onboarding and company electrical safety courses on one platform, with one login per apprentice. Our guide to NFPA 70E training software covers the safety side. Course assignments carry due dates and mandatory flags, with overdue reports.

If you also sponsor pipe trades, our plumbing apprenticeship LMS guide covers PHCC and UA programs. Community colleges teaching RTI under contract should also read our guide to the best LMS for trade schools.

Electrical RTI options compared

Sponsors weigh curriculum publishers, LMS platforms and apprenticeship software, which do different jobs. Vendor facts come from their public pages as of September 2026.

OptionWhat it isOnline RTI deliveryProctored examsOJT hours and RAPIDSNotes
LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick)LMS plus Test CenterYear courses, live sessions, lesson minimum timeNative (webcam, face monitoring, lockdown, ID photo)No, exports by CSV, API or webhooksBring your curriculum, cloud or self-hosted
electrical training ALLIANCENational JATC curriculum on ProTech Skills Institute's LMSBlended learning for apprentices and continuing trainingNot stated on public pagesNoFor IBEW/NECA programs
IEC National curriculumLicensed four-year curriculum and test bankDelivered by chapters, some fully onlineStandardized year-end tests, delivery set by the chapterNo576 classroom hours
NCCER Electrical and NCCERconnectCurriculum plus course toolsPre-loaded content, online gradebookNot stated on the pageNoCredentials need accreditation
GoSproutApprenticeship managementTracks RTI hoursNoYes, OJT logs and RAPIDS exportsSays an LMS cannot manage OJT
ApprentiScopeApprenticeship managementNot the focusNoYes, mobile OJT logging and approvalsOne-tap supervisor approval

LMS Advisor: best overall for electrical sponsors running their own classroom instruction. Year courses with time controls, weekly live classes with attendance, proctored year-end exams with hotspot items and verifiable certificates, in our cloud or on your server. You supply the curriculum and connect it to an OJT system.

electrical training ALLIANCE and IEC National: best for standard national curriculum. JATCs keep the ALLIANCE curriculum, and IEC chapters license a four-year program and test bank they deliver their own way.

NCCER Electrical: best for ABC chapters and accredited units that want portable credentials. NCCERconnect offers "pre-loaded content and course management tools" and an "online gradebook." Credentials still require accreditation.

GoSprout and ApprentiScope: best for logging OJT hours and agency reports. Run one of them, or your state agency's system, next to the LMS.

Setup checklist before your first electrical cohort

  1. Confirm with your registration agency or apprenticeship training representative that online or hybrid RTI is approved for your standards. Apprenticeship.gov tells sponsors to talk to their ATR before changing how a program runs.
  2. Pick time-based, competency-based or hybrid, and write down your credit-for-prior-learning and challenge test policy.
  3. Check that your curriculum license covers LMS delivery of the publisher's content and test bank.
  4. Set up a course per apprenticeship year, with lesson minimum times totaling your approved classroom hours.
  5. Publish the weekly live class and lab schedule and choose QR or manual attendance.
  6. Write the year-end exam blueprint: pools, pass mark, retake policy and proctoring settings.
  7. Create a certificate template per year with public verification.
  8. Set up the webhook or CSV route from completions to your OJT and RAPIDS system.
  9. Model employers, cohorts and branches and give employer supervisors manager access.
  10. Add Spanish translations and phone login by SMS or WhatsApp for apprentices without email.
  11. Agree the retention period for progress records and exam evidence.

Where LMS Advisor falls short for apprenticeship programs

These limits are real, and it is better to plan around them before you sign.

  • No OJT logbook or RAPIDS export. There is no on-the-job hour logging, supervisor approval or wage-step tracking. Pair it with GoSprout, ApprentiScope or your agency's system through the REST API, webhooks and CSV.
  • No bundled curriculum. No IEC, NCCER or electrical training ALLIANCE content ships with it. Bring licensed content or SCORM, xAPI or cmi5 packages under the licensor's terms.
  • No skills matrix. There is no competency framework, so hands-on sign-offs live in your OJT tool or in a graded assignment.
  • Learning paths are limited. Paths cannot include exams and do not issue a path certificate, and course prerequisites are not enforced. Enroll apprentices in Year 3 when they pass Year 2.
  • Essay items do not score. Essay and file-upload exam questions are screening items only.
  • Only some lessons work offline. Apprentices can save video, audio and document lessons in the iOS and Android app, but live classes, quizzes and SCORM packages need a connection, and proctored exams are taken on a computer.
  • The software does not approve anything. Whether online RTI counts is up to your registration agency, and for licensing, the state board.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best electrical apprenticeship LMS for sponsors that teach their own RTI?

For that buyer our top pick is LMS Advisor. It combines year courses with lesson minimum time, weekly live classes with attendance, proctored year-end exams with hotspot items on electrical drawings and verifiable certificates, in our cloud or self-hosted. Hours on the job and RAPIDS reporting stay in apprenticeship software.

Can electrical apprenticeship classes be taken fully online?

In many programs, yes, once the registration agency signs off. Apprenticeship.gov says sponsors have the option of delivering classroom instruction online, and some IEC chapters already run fully online programs with weekly live sessions.

How many classroom hours does an electrical apprentice need each year?

The federal standard recommends at least 144 hours a year, but your approved standards set the real number. The Houston Electrical JATC schedules 180 a year and IEC plans 576 over four years.

Will LMS Advisor log OJT hours or send RAPIDS reports?

No. It covers the classroom side (lessons, live classes, attendance, exams and certificates) and passes results to your OJT tool or state system by webhook, REST API or a CSV export per cohort.

Can we deliver IEC or NCCER curriculum inside LMS Advisor?

Only content you are licensed to deliver that way, in a format you can import such as SCORM, xAPI or cmi5. Neither curriculum is included, and NCCER credentials still require NCCER accreditation.

How do we stop apprentices sharing answers on online tests?

Draw each exam from question pools so apprentices see different items, and proctor mid-terms and finals. Snapshots, face monitoring, lockdown and device lock make sharing harder, and the evidence trail shows what happened.

Can a JATC or chapter self-host LMS Advisor?

Yes. LMS Advisor runs in our cloud or on your own server, including ordinary VPS or cPanel hosting, with in-app backups and system-health tools. Chapters leaving Moodle can import .mbz course backups.

Ready to see an apprenticeship year built as a course, a proctored year-end exam and the completion webhook that feeds your OJT system? Request an LMS Advisor demo for your program.

Everything about LMS Advisor for electrical contractors

Get a tailored demo

See LMS Advisor for electrical contractors

Tell us about your staff, sites and training rules. We will show you how LMS Advisor handles them, including the parts we do not cover.

  • Walkthrough built around this guide
  • Cloud or self-hosted options
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.

More guides
From the blog