Plumbing apprenticeship LMS for related technical instruction
Run plumbing RTI online or hybrid, test apprentices securely at the end of each level and keep progress records your registration agency can review.
A plumbing apprenticeship LMS delivers related technical instruction online, tests apprentices at the end of each level and keeps the progress records a registration agency can review. For sponsors that run their own RTI, LMS Advisor is our top pick: one course per apprenticeship year with lesson minimum time, live evening classes with attendance, proctored end-of-level exams and certificates anyone can verify.
This guide is for training directors at UA local JATCs, PHCC and ABC chapter apprenticeship coordinators, group sponsors, contractors with their own registered program and community colleges that teach RTI for a sponsor. It covers the federal rules after the March 2026 guidance, where an LMS fits next to OJT and RAPIDS software, how to build and test a program online, and how the options compare. LMS Advisor is our platform, and it is the classroom and testing layer only: it does not log on-the-job hours, file RAPIDS reports or issue OSHA 10/30 cards. We have spent years building, fixing and migrating LMS platforms, Moodle included. For the wider picture, start with our training guide for plumbing companies and schools.
What do the rules require from plumbing related instruction in 2026?
The federal standard recommends hours, lets the registration agency approve the delivery method and asks for progress records. Your approved standards and your state fill in the rest.
Is 144 hours a year a minimum?
No, it is a recommendation. The federal standards of apprenticeship in 29 CFR 29.5(b)(4) call for "organized, related instruction in technical subjects related to the occupation" and say "a minimum of 144 hours for each year of apprenticeship is recommended." The same paragraph allows delivery "through media such as classroom, occupational or industry courses, electronic media, or other instruction approved by the Registration Agency." Many plumbing programs plan for more. PHCC Academy describes each of its courses as "the equivalent of one year of classroom instruction which is 156 hours," and NCCER's plumbing curriculum runs four levels totaling 702.5 hours including core (as of September 2026).
Time-based, competency-based and hybrid programs
Under 29.5(b)(2), the term of an apprenticeship is measured by on-the-job learning (at least 2,000 hours) in a time-based program, by attained competency in a competency-based program, or by a blend of both in a hybrid program. Plumbing is usually a long program: the BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook says most plumbers learn through "a 4- or 5-year apprenticeship" and that "most states and some localities require plumbers to be licensed." A time-based program leans on hours and completions. A competency-based or hybrid program leans harder on exam results.
What the March 2026 DOL guidance changed, and what it did not
On March 9, 2026 the Employment and Training Administration announced four guidance documents: Circular 2026-01 on program design under the three approaches, Circular 2026-02 on state apprenticeship agencies and councils, Circular 2026-03 on completion rates, and Bulletin 2026-35, which commits the Office of Apprenticeship to registration determinations within 30 days. The stated goal is 1 million active apprentices.
This is guidance, not a new rule. The text of 29 CFR part 29 is unchanged, and the 2024 "National Apprenticeship System Enhancements" proposal was withdrawn on December 27, 2024. A summary of the 2026 guidance from WIN Intelligence reads it this way: the 144-hour recommendation remains, delivery "may vary (e.g., online, front-loaded, or hybrid)" if instructor qualifications and quality standards are met, the 12-month minimum for competency-based programs and the 50 percent cap on prior-experience credit are rescinded at the federal level, and sponsors "must maintain defensible documentation verifying that apprentices meet all approved standards prior to completion." Treat that as a secondary reading and check the circulars and your state first.
Where state agencies and licensing boards come in
Online RTI is not new. Apprenticeship.gov's page on virtual delivery, citing Bulletin 2020-51, says "apprenticeship sponsors have the option of delivering classroom instruction online," tells sponsors to contact their apprenticeship training representative (ATR) before changing how the program runs, and suggests "a learning management system or other online platforms."
Licensing boards add their own rules. In Texas, the TSBPE eligibility rules for the first full plumber license after apprenticeship include at least 8,000 hours of experience and either a 48-hour TSBPE-approved training course or enrollment in or completion of a training program approved by the US Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship. A registered program has a direct licensing payoff for the apprentice, so keep clean records.
Where does an LMS fit next to apprenticeship software?
Most sponsors need two systems. Expecting one tool to do both jobs is a common and expensive mistake.
The LMS job: deliver and test related instruction
An LMS holds the classroom side: year courses, live classes, recorded demonstrations, exams, attendance and certificates. It answers "did this apprentice finish Year 2 theory and pass, and can you prove it?"
The apprenticeship-management job: OJT hours, wage steps and RAPIDS
Apprenticeship software holds the job-site side. GoSprout tracks "on-the-job training and related technical instruction hours with time logs, supervisor approvals," offers "pre-built RAPIDS, WIPS, and PIRL exports" and describes itself as "not a repurposed LMS." ApprentiScope sums up its OJT model as "Apprentices submit hours, Supervisors approve, you see everything" and lists RAPIDS and SAA features (both as of September 2026). LMS Advisor does none of this.
How to connect the two
Data flows one way. LMS Advisor fires webhooks on enrollment, completion and certificate issued and has a REST API, and your apprenticeship system credits the RTI record from those events. Without an integration, a regular CSV or Excel export per cohort does the same job with a person in the loop.
What should a plumbing apprenticeship LMS do?
Use these criteria to compare platforms for online related technical instruction for apprentices:
- Time control. Lesson minimum time and sequential progression, so an apprentice cannot click through a year of theory in an evening.
- Live instruction. Evening classes on Zoom or Google Meet with attendance recorded against the course.
- Secure testing. Level exams with question pools, image hotspot items and proctoring set per exam.
- Evidence. Exportable completions, attendance and exam results, plus verifiable certificates.
- Structure for many employers. Separate cohorts, employers and locals, with supervisors seeing only their own apprentices.
- Job-site access. Phone login without company email, translations and a mobile app with lessons that can be saved for offline use.
- Standards support. SCORM, xAPI or cmi5 import for licensed curriculum packages.
- A way out. Exports, an API and a self-hosted option.
How do you build a four or five year RTI program in LMS Advisor?
This setup mirrors the year-by-year structure of NCCER Levels 1 to 4 or PHCC 101 to 401. The curriculum is yours to bring.
- Create one course per apprenticeship year. Use sections for units (drainage, waste and vent, water supply, fixtures, gas piping, code) and ordered lessons inside each.
- Set lesson minimum times that add up to your approved hours. Turn on sequential progression so lessons open in order, and use drip scheduling (days after enrollment) to release units across the year instead of all at once.
- Mark key content as required. In the interactive module builder, required blocks gate completion, so the code-reading exercise or the safety callout cannot be skipped.
- Record your senior plumbers. The browser Recording Studio captures camera, screen or whiteboard, so a foreman can talk through a rough-in or mark up an isometric, and the file lands in the Media Library. Add timestamped questions to the video with interactive video, and rewind-on-wrong sends the apprentice back to the part they missed.
- Schedule evening classes. Add live session lessons through Zoom or Google Meet from the virtual classroom and take attendance by QR check-in or manually.
- Build the end-of-level exam in the Test Center. Draw questions from pools by difficulty, set the pass mark and turn on proctoring (next section).
- Issue a certificate per level. The certificate designer issues automatically on completion or pass, and each certificate has a public verification page an employer or agency can check.
- Open access for the crew. Turn on phone login by one-time code over SMS or WhatsApp, have apprentices install the iOS or Android app (allow downloads so video, audio and document lessons can be saved for job sites with no signal, while quizzes and exams need a connection) and add course translations, for example Spanish.
Want to see one year built this way, with a proctored level exam? Book a demo with our team.
How do you test apprentices in a way you can defend?
Honor-system tests versus proctored exams
Some programs rely on the honor system. PHCC Academy's plumbing apprenticeship course page asks students to complete all tests "as closed-book" and says "students are on the honor system," with a passing grade of 70 percent (as of September 2026). That is reasonable for weekly quizzes. For the exam that moves an apprentice up a year, many sponsors will want more. In the LMS Advisor Test Center, native proctoring is set per exam: periodic webcam snapshots, AI face monitoring for no face or a second face, fullscreen lockdown, logged tab switching and copy/paste, ID photo capture, single-session and device lock, and an honesty pledge. Violations go into an evidence trail that a person reviews, and you set the violation limits per exam.
Question pools, difficulty levels and image hotspot items
Pools and difficulty levels make a leaked exam far less useful, because apprentices draw different questions from the same blueprint. Of the 14 question types, image hotspot is the most useful for plumbing: show an isometric drawing and ask the apprentice to click the cleanout, the trap arm or the vent that is sized wrong. Audio and video answer questions let an apprentice explain a procedure out loud. Essay and file-upload exam questions are screening items only and do not count toward the score, so keep the pass decision on scored items. For weighting topics, see our guide on building an exam blueprint from a job task analysis.
An evidence trail for appeals and progress reviews
When an apprentice disputes a failed level exam, the attempt, answers, snapshots and logged violations sit in one record. It also feeds the periodic review that 29.5(b)(6) asks for.
What records do sponsors and registration agencies ask for?
29.5(b)(6) requires "periodic review and evaluation of the apprentice's performance on the job and in related instruction; and the maintenance of appropriate progress records." For the RTI half, LMS Advisor gives you:
- Completions and lesson progress per apprentice, cohort and employer.
- Live class attendance and exam attempts with proctoring evidence.
- Certificates issued per level, each with a public verification link, through certificates and compliance records.
- Filterable report views exported to CSV, Excel or PDF, plus audit logs and data retention settings.
There is no drag-and-drop report builder, so shape exports in a spreadsheet or pull data through the REST API into a BI tool. Decide your retention period early. Our table of training records retention requirements by US rule is a starting point, but your standards and state agency have the final word.
How do the RTI options compare?
Sponsors usually compare curriculum providers, LMS platforms and apprenticeship-management software, which do different jobs.
| Option | What it is | Online RTI delivery | Proctored exams | OJT hours and RAPIDS | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick) | LMS plus Test Center | Courses, live sessions, lesson minimum time | Native (webcam, face monitoring, lockdown, ID photo) | No, sends data out by webhooks, API or CSV | Bring your curriculum, cloud or self-hosted |
| PHCC Academy | Online curriculum on an Absorb-hosted portal | 156-hour course per level | Closed-book tests on the honor system described | No | Enrollment through PHCC chapters |
| NCCER and NCCERconnect | Curriculum plus course tools | Interactive eTextbook, media library, pre-loaded content | Not stated on the pages we checked | No | Credentials need NCCER accreditation |
| GoSprout | Apprenticeship management | Tracks RTI hours with time logs | No | Yes, OJT logs and RAPIDS exports | Says it is not a repurposed LMS |
| ApprentiScope | Apprenticeship management | RTI tracking listed | No | Yes, OJT approvals and RAPIDS/SAA features | Mobile OJT logging |
| Absorb LMS | General enterprise LMS | Your own courses, AI course creation | Not stated on the homepage | No | E-commerce and extended enterprise portals |
Facts about other vendors come from their public pages as of September 2026.
LMS Advisor: best overall for sponsors that teach their own RTI. Year courses with time controls, live classes with attendance, proctored level exams with image hotspot items and verifiable certificates, in our cloud or on your server. You supply the curriculum and pair it with an OJT system.
PHCC Academy: best for chapters that want ready-made curriculum. PHCC Educational Foundation says the program is recognized by the US Department of Labor "as a reasonable option for apprentice training." Courses run on a portal hosted on Absorb, completion is expected within 12 months, and extensions cost "$250 per 6 months." If you want content written for you, start there. If you want a PHCC Academy alternative with your own instructors, proctored exams and your own data, an LMS you control is the other route.
NCCER: best for accredited training units that want portable credentials. NCCERconnect offers "pre-loaded content and course management tools," an interactive eTextbook and a media library in English and Spanish. Credentials require an NCCER-accredited organization.
GoSprout and ApprentiScope: best for OJT hours and agency reporting. Use one of them, or your agency's system, next to an LMS rather than instead of one.
Absorb LMS: best for large companies training beyond their own staff. Absorb lists AI course creation, e-commerce, extended enterprise portals and connectors to "ADP, Workday, Salesforce, and 40+ more systems." It is a corporate LMS, not an apprenticeship tool.
What do JATCs, association chapters and contractor sponsors each need?
A JATC learning management system: self-hosting, SSO and many locals
Joint committees often want data on their own server. LMS Advisor runs self-hosted on ordinary VPS or cPanel hosting (see security and data ownership). Staff and instructors can sign in through SAML 2.0 SSO with SCIM 2.0 provisioning from an identity provider such as Microsoft Entra ID, while apprentices use phone login. Branches separate locals or training centers. Leaving an old Moodle site? Moodle .mbz course backups import directly.
Association chapters: many employers in one cohort
A PHCC or ABC chapter class mixes apprentices from a dozen contractors. Put each employer in its own organization and the cohort in a group. Manager views let an employer's supervisor see their own apprentices' progress and exam results without seeing anyone else's.
Contractor sponsors: tie RTI to onboarding
A merit-shop contractor with its own registered program can run apprentice RTI, new-hire onboarding and company safety courses in one platform, with course assignments carrying due dates and mandatory flags and overdue reports for anyone behind.
Community colleges teaching RTI under contract face many of the same questions as career schools. Our guide to the best LMS for trade schools and career colleges covers clock hours, shop attendance and identity checks.
What should you set up before the first cohort starts?
Work through this list in order. Each item maps to a setting or a decision you will need before apprentices log in.
- Confirm with your registration agency or ATR that online or hybrid RTI is approved for your standards.
- Decide time-based, competency-based or hybrid, and document your credit-for-prior-learning policy.
- Build one course per year with lesson minimum times that add up to your approved hours.
- Publish a live class schedule and pick QR or manual attendance.
- Write an exam blueprint per level (pools, pass mark, proctoring) and a certificate template.
- Set up the webhook or export route from LMS completions to your OJT and RAPIDS system.
- Create the cohort, employer and branch structure and give supervisors manager access.
- Add translations and turn on phone login for apprentices without email.
- Agree a retention period for progress records and exam evidence.
What LMS Advisor does not do
We would rather you learn these now than in month three.
- No OJT logbook. No on-the-job hour logging, supervisor sign-off or wage-step tracking, and no RAPIDS or SAA export. Pair it with apprenticeship software such as GoSprout or ApprentiScope, or your agency's own system, through the REST API, webhooks and CSV.
- No competency framework or skills matrix. Track competencies in your apprenticeship system.
- No bundled curriculum. There is no NCCER, PHCC or UA content in the box. Bring your licensed content or SCORM packages, and NCCER credentials still require NCCER accreditation.
- Learning paths cannot include exams. A path can issue its own certificate, but run each exam outside the path and issue its certificate on a pass.
- Prerequisites lock lessons, not enrollment. Make Year 2 a prerequisite of Year 3 and its lessons stay locked until Year 2 is complete, though apprentices can still enroll early.
- No OSHA Outreach cards. It cannot issue OSHA 10 or 30 cards.
- The software does not approve your RTI. Whether online instruction counts is the registration agency's decision.
Frequently asked questions
Can plumbing apprenticeship related instruction be done fully online?
Often yes, if your registration agency approves it. 29 CFR 29.5(b)(4) allows electronic media and "other instruction approved by the Registration Agency," and Apprenticeship.gov says sponsors have the option of delivering classroom instruction online. Talk to your ATR or state agency first.
How many hours of related instruction does a plumbing apprentice need each year?
The federal standard recommends a minimum of 144 hours a year, but it is a recommendation. Your approved standards set the real number, and many plumbing curricula plan for more.
What did the March 2026 DOL apprenticeship guidance change?
It issued three circulars on program design, state agency roles and completion rates, plus a bulletin committing to registration determinations within 30 days. It did not change the text of 29 CFR part 29. Secondary summaries report that federal limits such as the 12-month minimum for competency-based programs were rescinded, so check the circulars and your state.
Does LMS Advisor track OJT hours or file RAPIDS reports?
No. It handles related instruction, attendance, exams and certificates, and sends completions to apprenticeship software or your agency's system through webhooks, the REST API or CSV exports.
Can we use NCCER or PHCC curriculum inside LMS Advisor?
Only content you are licensed to use, in a format you can import, such as SCORM, xAPI or cmi5 packages. Neither curriculum is included, and NCCER credentials require NCCER accreditation.
What is the best plumbing apprenticeship LMS for sponsors that teach their own RTI?
LMS Advisor is our top pick. It combines year courses with lesson minimum time, live classes with attendance, proctored level exams and verifiable certificates, in the cloud or self-hosted. Pair it with apprenticeship software for OJT hours and RAPIDS.
Ready to see a plumbing apprenticeship year built as a course, a proctored level exam and the webhook that feeds your OJT system? Request an LMS Advisor demo and bring one unit of your curriculum.