Halloween to Cyber Monday sale: 30% off your first year of LMS Advisor, cloud or self-hosted.30% off your first year Ends Dec 1, 2026 Claim the offer
Electrical Contractors

NFPA 70E training software for qualified electrical workers

Deliver your own 70E and 1910.269 courses, test knowledge with proctored exams, track three-year refresh cycles and keep records that show content, names and dates.

NFPA 70E training software should deliver your own electrical safety program, test what workers know and show, per worker, what they were trained on and when. For contractors and training firms that run their own program, LMS Advisor is our top pick: company-specific courses, proctored knowledge exams, course certificates that expire on your retraining cycle and exportable completion records by name and date, tied to a course that holds your outline.

This guide is for safety directors at multi-branch electrical contractors, industrial and data center service firms, utility line and substation contractors working under 1910.269, facility maintenance teams and electrical safety trainers who deliver 70E to client crews. It covers what a training system has to prove, who decides qualification, which features matter, how the main options compare and how to set it up. LMS Advisor is our platform, and we say plainly where it stops. For what the standard itself requires, section by section, read our companion post on NFPA 70E training requirements. For the wider trade picture, start with our training software guide for electrical contractors. This page is planning help, not legal advice.

What does NFPA 70E training software have to prove?

A 70E record gets read during an audit and after someone gets hurt. At the second moment, the question is what exactly the worker was taught, when, and how you know they could do it. Choose the system for that moment.

OSHA's general industry electrical rules carry the training duty. Under 29 CFR 1910.332, employees "shall be trained in and familiar with the safety-related work practices required by 1910.331 through 1910.335 that pertain to their respective job assignments." Qualified persons must also be trained to distinguish exposed live parts, determine nominal voltage and know the clearance distances in 1910.333(c). Paragraph (c) says the training "shall be of the classroom or on-the-job type" and that its degree "shall be determined by the risk to the employee."

NFPA 70E is a consensus standard, not a regulation. OSHA said so directly in a 2004 interpretation letter: "From an enforcement perspective, OSHA does not enforce NFPA 70E." The same letter adds that OSHA "may, however, use NFPA 70E to support citations for violations relating to certain OSHA standards," such as the PPE requirements in 1910.335. In practice, 70E is how most employers show they met the OSHA duty, so records should line up with both.

Retraining at intervals not to exceed three years, plus triggers

Electrical safety expert Jim Phillips quotes NFPA 70E-2024 section 110.4(3) in Electrical Contractor magazine: "Additional training and retraining in safety-related work practices and applicable changes in this standard shall be performed at intervals not to exceed 3 years." Training guides also describe earlier retraining, for example after a failed inspection, new equipment or a change in job duties, so check the triggers in the edition you own. Your software has to handle both: a calendar cycle and an event that resets one person's clock.

Documentation of content, names and dates

Older editions of 70E (2015 numbering, section 110.2(E), as quoted by Electrical Safety Specialists) required the employer to document training when the employee "demonstrates proficiency," keep it "for the duration of the employee's employment," and include "the content of the training, each employee's name, and dates of training." The section has moved in later editions, so check the wording in the edition you own. Phillips makes the practical point that documenting content could include "a course syllabus, outline or similar information." A course in an LMS carries its own outline, which answers the content question.

What the 2027 edition changes, and what is still unconfirmed

Treat the 2027 details below as reported, not confirmed. Industry change analyses describe a 14th edition released digitally in May 2026. Writing on May 15, 2026, Phillips said in Electrical Contractor magazine that the edition "has not been published" at that time, and he reported that 110.4 restores the sentence "A person shall be permitted to be considered qualified with respect to certain equipment and tasks but unqualified for others." Secondary summaries such as Arc Flash Training's 2027 changes guide also describe annual contact-release refresher training under 110.4(C) and a new requirement for at least one additional person trained in emergency response when an energized work permit calls for shock or arc flash PPE. As of September 2026 these sources disagree, so confirm the publication date, effective date and section numbers with NFPA before you rewrite courses or policy around them.

Who decides that an electrical worker is qualified?

The employer does. In 70E terms, a qualified person has demonstrated skills and knowledge for the equipment and tasks involved and has received safety training on the hazards. The reported 2027 wording makes the task-by-task point explicit, and Martin Technical's service model shows what that looks like on paper: an "Electrical Qualified Person Validation Sheet" per worker, signed by a Martin Technical electrical safety expert, that lists the tasks and equipment the worker was observed and tested on.

No LMS makes that call, and a certificate of completion is not a qualification. Software holds the evidence behind the decision: the course content, the exam score, the attendance at a hands-on session, the date of the last retraining. OSHA's arc flash publication (OSHA 4472) says employers should make sure workers performing electrical tasks are "adequately trained, competent, and certified," and that an unqualified worker may cross the arc flash boundary only "under the close supervision of a qualified employee." Keep the qualification list itself in your own controlled record, and link each line to the training evidence.

What features matter in electrical safety training software?

We have built, fixed and migrated LMS platforms for years, and 70E programs fail in the same places: expired refreshers nobody noticed, tests that prove nothing and hands-on sessions with no record. These features address each one.

Course certificates with validity periods

A refresher cycle only works if the certificate knows when it runs out. In LMS Advisor, a course certificate can carry a validity period in months, shows an expiring-soon status 30 days before the date and renews when the worker retakes the course. As a configuration example, set 36 months on the qualified worker refresher and 12 months on a contact-release refresher, or shorter if your policy says so. Exam certificates can carry a validity too, but renewal by retake works on courses, so attach the cycle to a course. The certificates and compliance feature covers the designer and public verification page.

Proctored knowledge exams with image hotspot items

An honor-system quiz is weak evidence after an incident. The Test Center runs standalone exams with native proctoring: webcam and screen snapshots, AI face monitoring, fullscreen lockdown, ID photo capture and device lock, with an evidence trail per attempt. Image hotspot questions suit this subject well: ask the worker to click the arc flash boundary on an equipment label or the correct disconnect on a one-line diagram. Question pools keep the same items from circulating on a job site. See native proctored exams for the full control list.

Attendance for classroom, tailgate and hands-on sessions

1910.332(c) calls for classroom or on-the-job training, so much of a 70E program happens away from a screen. Record classroom days and tailgate talks with QR check-in or manual attendance, and run live refreshers on Zoom or Google Meet. A skill demonstration, such as establishing an electrically safe work condition on a specific panel, can be its own attendance session with the evaluator named in the session title.

Manager and branch views of who is current

Organization course assignments carry due dates and mandatory flags, and overdue reports show who has missed them, by branch, organization or group. Email automations chase workers whose certificate is expiring, who never started or who stalled mid-course. Exports go to CSV, Excel or PDF from reporting and analytics.

Access for field crews

Phone login by one-time code over SMS or WhatsApp, an iOS and Android app with video, audio and document lessons saved for substations and yards without signal, and course translations for Spanish-speaking crews matter more here than in office training. SAML SSO and SCIM keep branch rosters in step with HR.

How do utility and line contractors handle 1910.269 training records?

Line and substation contractors carry a second layer. 29 CFR 1910.269 adds duties that a generic course tracker does not model well.

Annual inspections and proficiency before training counts

Under 1910.269(a)(2)(iv), the employer determines "through regular supervision and through inspections conducted on at least an annual basis" that each employee follows the required work practices. Paragraph (a)(2)(viii) says an employee is not considered to have completed the training until they have "demonstrated proficiency in the work practices involved." Paragraph (a)(2)(v) adds retraining after noncompliance, new technology or procedures, and for tasks performed less than once a year. Build the annual inspection as a recurring attendance session per crew, and keep the online course and the proficiency session as separate items, so the record shows both.

Host and contract employer information

Under 1910.269(a)(3)(ii), contract employers instruct their employees on hazards the host employer identifies and advise the host employer of unanticipated hazards within two working days. A short site-specific course per host, assigned to the crew going there, gives you a dated record of that instruction.

Should you buy a 70E course or build your own program?

Most mature programs do both: licensed content for the standard plus material on your own procedures.

Course libraries

As of September 2026, Vector Solutions sells NFPA 70E courses covering "electrical hazards, lockout/tagout procedures, PPE requirements, and more," with Vector LMS to "Assign, track, and report" compliance training. TPC Training runs an 8-lesson course "article by article" and states it is authorized by IACET to offer 0.6 CEUs for the online version. Its product page does not name the edition. 360training lists "2027 standards" as its newest version alongside 2024, 2020 and 2017, sells it as online and self-paced, and notes that 70E "doesn't set a requirement for the length of time" of training.

Service providers with tracking

Bowtie Engineering offers "both in-person refresher sessions and online learning modules," and its BowVue platform "tracks course completions, expiration dates, and role-specific requirements across the organization." Martin Technical qualifies workers through interviews, written tests and skill demonstrations and keeps copies as a third-party archive. Both are service-led: good when you want an outside firm to run the program.

Your procedures and your equipment

Generic 70E content cannot show your lockout procedure, your switchgear labels or your energized work permit form. Miter, a construction payroll and HCM vendor, bundles "500+ OSHA & construction courses" with certification tracking, which may suit firms already running payroll on Miter.

How do NFPA 70E training options compare?

Facts from each vendor's public pages as of September 2026.

OptionTypeContentKnowledge testingRefresh trackingBest for
LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick)LMS and Test Center, cloud or self-hostedBring or build (no library)Native proctored exams, question pools, image hotspotCourse certificate expiry, expiring-soon reminders, overdue reportsBest overall for employers running their own 70E program
Vector SolutionsCourse library and Vector LMS70E coursesNot stated on pageAssign, track and report compliance trainingFirms that want library content first
TPC TrainingCourse provider8-lesson 70E course, IACET 0.6 CEUs onlineNot stated on pageNot stated on pageStandard-by-article content
360trainingCourse provider2027, 2024, 2020 and 2017 edition coursesFinal examInstant certificate downloadIndividual self-paced learners
Bowtie (BowVue)Training service and platformIn-person and online modulesNot statedCompletions, expiration dates, role requirementsOutsourced program delivery
Martin TechnicalQualification serviceTraining sessions and skill demonstrationsInterviews, written testsValidation sheet, third-party archiveThird-party qualification paperwork

LMS Advisor: best overall for your own documented program

It holds the whole evidence chain in one place: the course and its outline, the proctored exam, the hands-on attendance, the certificate with its expiry and the export. It does not ship 70E content, so budget for a license or for writing your own.

The others: best for content or outsourced delivery

Vector, TPC and 360training are the fast route to standard content, so check which edition each course covers. Bowtie and Martin Technical fit when an outside expert should deliver, evaluate and archive.

How to run an NFPA 70E program in LMS Advisor

  1. Write down who is qualified for what. Keep the task and equipment list in your own controlled record. Each line should point to a course and a proficiency session in the LMS.
  2. Create one course per role. Qualified worker, unqualified worker, and emergency response or contact release. Add a short site-specific course per host site for 1910.269 crews.
  3. Build content from what you own or license. Upload SCORM, xAPI or cmi5 packages from your content partner, and add interactive video walkthroughs of approach boundaries, PPE selection and establishing an electrically safe work condition, recorded with a senior electrician in the Recording Studio.
  4. Set lesson minimum time and required blocks on the procedure lessons so nobody clicks through lockout steps.
  5. Build a proctored exam in the Test Center from a question pool, with image hotspot items on labels and one-line diagrams, a pass mark and your retake policy (confirm retake settings in a demo).
  6. Record the hands-on part as attendance sessions with QR check-in, one per skill demonstration or annual inspection, with the evaluator named.
  7. Set certificate validity on each course to match your policy, for example 36 months for the refresher and 12 months for contact release.
  8. Assign by branch. Use organization assignments with due dates and mandatory flags, and switch on the certificate-expiring email automation.
  9. Set retention and exports. Configure data retention to cover the length of employment, and run a monthly CSV or Excel export of completions per branch for your safety files.

Want to see a 70E refresher with an expiring certificate, a proctored knowledge check and the overdue report your safety director would use? Book a demo and bring one of your procedures.

How should you roll out 2027 edition delta training?

Nothing on OSHA's pages makes a new 70E edition mandatory on a fixed date, and we are not aware of a rule that forces everyone to retrain the day an edition appears. Plan it as a managed update.

Inventory who is due and who is affected

Export current certificates and sort by expiry. Workers due soon take the updated full refresher, and workers mid-cycle may only need a short changes module.

Build a short changes course and a knowledge check

Once you hold the 2027 text, list the changes that affect your procedures, write a 20 to 40 minute module and add ten questions to the pool. AI question generation can draft items, and an instructor reviews them before they go live.

Reset certificate cycles only where your policy says so

A changes module does not have to restart the three-year clock. Decide in writing whether it does, then configure validity to match. Our guide to training records retention requirements helps set how long those records stay.

NFPA 70E program checklist and 90-day plan

  • Written list of which workers are qualified for which equipment and tasks
  • Course per role: qualified, unqualified, emergency response and contact release
  • Lesson minimum time and required blocks on key procedures
  • Proctored knowledge exam with pass mark and retake policy
  • Course certificate validity set to your cycle, not more than 3 years for 70E retraining
  • Retraining triggers logged: failed inspection or observed deficiency, new equipment, procedure or job duty change
  • Attendance method for classroom, tailgate and hands-on sessions
  • Records export with course, name and date per worker
  • Retention setting covering the length of employment
  • Plan for 2027 edition delta training once you hold the text

In the first 30 days, load the qualified worker course, the exam and one branch. By day 60, add hands-on attendance sessions and the contact-release course. By day 90, roll out to every branch and run the first overdue report with branch managers. Apprentice programs can follow the same pattern, covered in our electrical apprenticeship LMS guide.

Where LMS Advisor stops

  • No qualification decisions. The employer designates qualified persons task by task. There is no skills matrix, so the equipment and task list lives in your own records.
  • No 70E or arc flash course content. License it from a provider or build it from the standard you own.
  • No engineering services. It does not perform arc flash studies, produce labels or issue energized work permits.
  • Renewal on course certificates. Exam certificates can carry a validity, but renewal by retake works on courses, so tie refresh cycles there.
  • Due-date reminders start switched off. Automations cover expiring certificates, workers who never started, stalled learners and, once an admin turns them on, approaching due dates. Use overdue reports once a date has passed.
  • Hands-on work happens in the field. The LMS records it through attendance and exams, not sensors or signatures.
  • No certifications. LMS Advisor holds no security attestation and cannot vouch for your program with OSHA. Your program design and your records carry that weight.

If an outside firm should run delivery and qualification end to end, a service provider fits better. For company-wide compliance tracking beyond electrical safety, see our compliance training solution.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best software for NFPA 70E training?

For employers and training firms that run their own program, LMS Advisor is our pick. It combines company-specific courses, proctored knowledge exams, course certificates that expire on your cycle and exportable records. If you only need ready-made content, a course library such as Vector, TPC or 360training is faster to start.

Does LMS Advisor come with an NFPA 70E course?

No. It ships no course library, so you license 70E content as SCORM, xAPI or cmi5 packages or build courses from the standard you own.

Can an LMS certify a worker as qualified under NFPA 70E?

No. Qualification is the employer's decision for specific equipment and tasks. An LMS holds the evidence behind it: content, exam results, hands-on attendance and dates.

How do we track the 3-year NFPA 70E retraining cycle?

Put the cycle on a course certificate. In LMS Advisor, set a validity of 36 months or less, and the certificate shows an expiring-soon status 30 days out and renews when the worker retakes the course. Earlier retraining after a failed inspection or procedure change is a new assignment for that person.

Does NFPA 70E training have to be in person?

Not entirely, and it should not be online only. 1910.332(c) calls for classroom or on-the-job training, and 1910.269 requires demonstrated proficiency, so pair online lessons with hands-on sessions. Our post on whether online OSHA training is acceptable covers what OSHA's letters say.

What records should we keep for 1910.269 training?

At minimum, keep the certification that 1910.269(a)(2)(ix) requires: proof that training was done and is kept up to date, with each employee's name and dates of training. Most programs also keep the training content, proof of demonstrated proficiency under (a)(2)(viii) and notes from the annual inspections under (a)(2)(iv).

Do we need to retrain everyone on the 2027 NFPA 70E right away?

OSHA does not enforce NFPA 70E directly, and it sets no date for moving to a new edition. Most employers cover the changes in the next refresher or a short changes module, once they have confirmed the 2027 text and its effective date with NFPA.

Ready to put your 70E program and its records in one place? Request a demo and we will build a sample refresher around your procedures.

Everything about LMS Advisor for electrical contractors

Get a tailored demo

See LMS Advisor for electrical contractors

Tell us about your staff, sites and training rules. We will show you how LMS Advisor handles them, including the parts we do not cover.

  • Walkthrough built around this guide
  • Cloud or self-hosted options
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More guides
From the blog