Dental assistant training software for DSO academies and schools
What an assistant program needs from software: paced theory, chairside video, exams you can defend, lab attendance and certificates, and how to run it across cohorts and campuses.
Dental assistant training software is the platform a DSO academy or private dental assisting school uses to run online theory, teach chairside skills on video, test with exams you can defend and issue certificates. For programs that teach online and test for real, LMS Advisor is our top pick: paced courses, interactive chairside video, image hotspot questions on radiographs, proctored module exams and verifiable certificates, plus live lab sessions with attendance.
This guide is for clinical education leads building an assistant academy inside a DSO, directors of private dental assisting schools and board-approved course providers. It covers what the software has to do, how to test assistants before they reach patients, state rules, DANB prep and running cohorts across campuses. LMS Advisor is our platform. It does not track clinical hours or deliver DANB exams, and we say where else it stops.
Why are DSOs and schools building their own dental assistant programs?
Replacement demand and the no-experience hire
The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook entry for dental assistants (page modified August 27, 2026) counts 388,600 dental assistant jobs in 2025 and about 53,000 openings a year, with 7% projected growth from 2025 to 2035. Growth alone does not explain 53,000 openings, so an office that hires well still hires often.
The same page notes that "some states require assistants to graduate from an accredited program and pass an exam. In other states, there are no formal educational requirements, and dental assistants learn through on-the-job training." There, a new hire can arrive with no dental background, and the practice becomes the school.
In-house academies: blended online and in-office
Several large DSOs describe their own assistant programs on public careers pages. The Aspen Dental role-based careers page calls its DA Onboarding Program "a blended learning experience" that combines in-office training with virtual classes, covering room preparation, infection prevention and sterilization, radiography and patient charting, impressions, and extractions and surgeries, and it mentions additional offerings like the DALE/DANB program. Heartland Dental's dental assistant careers page says that at the Heartland Dental University Dental Assistant Academy "you can access training to help you perfect your skills" and mentions "live, virtual, and on-demand classes." Both are as of September 2026.
These are industry examples, not customers of ours, and we do not know which software either uses. The pattern is what matters: theory online, live virtual classes for discussion, and chairside skills checked in a real office.
Private schools, weekend programs and board-approved courses
Private dental assisting schools run evening and weekend cohorts for career changers, and board-approved providers teach state courses such as California's 8-hour infection control course. They sell seats, run lab days and issue certificates employers read closely. CODA-accredited college programs usually run on their college's own LMS. If you run several trades programs, our trade school and career college LMS guide covers the wider school setup.
What does a dental assistant program need from training software?
We have built, fixed and migrated LMS platforms for schools for years, and assistant programs ask the same four things of software. The accreditation yardstick is worth borrowing. The CODA Accreditation Standards for Dental Assisting Education Programs (August 9, 2024 revision) say in Standard 2-8 that "objective student evaluation methods must be utilized to measure all defined course objectives," and Standard 2-13 asks for in-depth content on "bloodborne pathogens and hazard communications standards." Unaccredited academies can borrow both lines.
Paced didactic hours with minimum time
If you tell students a module takes six hours, the platform should make it take close to six hours. In LMS Advisor, a course is built from sections and ordered lessons. Sequential progression stops students jumping ahead, lesson minimum time keeps each lesson open for the time you set, and drip scheduling releases content a set number of days after enrollment. Required blocks inside interactive modules stop the click-through that turns a week of theory into an afternoon.
Skills video and chairside demonstrations
Chairside work is visual: tray setup, instrument transfer, mixing materials, sensor placement. Record your own instructors in the Recording Studio (camera, screen or both), then turn the footage into an interactive lesson with timestamped questions, chapters and overlay notes. Rewind-on-wrong sends a student back to the part of the demonstration they missed instead of a quiz at the end that nobody connects to the footage. The interactive video and Recording Studio page shows the editor.
Lab days and live classes with attendance
Nothing online replaces hands-on practice on typodonts. Add live sessions through Zoom or Google Meet for evening cohorts, and take attendance for in-person lab days with manual or QR check-in, so the online and in-person parts of each student's record sit together. Our virtual classroom page covers scheduling and attendance.
Exams you can defend
Employers will ask how you know a graduate can do the work. That takes a blueprint tied to your objectives, enough questions that students cannot memorize the test, and evidence the enrolled student took it.
How do you test dental assistants before they touch patients?
Question pools and difficulty levels
Build a question bank per module (infection control, radiography, dental materials, chairside assisting) and draw each exam from pools with difficulty levels, so two students sitting the same exam see different forms. Negative marking is there when guessing is a problem. AI question generation can draft items from your lesson text, but drafts are never auto-published, and an instructor should check every item against your own protocols. The assessments and quizzes page lists all 14 question types.
Image hotspot items on radiographs, trays and anatomy
An image hotspot question asks the student to click the right spot on a picture: a specific tooth surface on a bitewing, the explorer on a tray setup, a cone cut on a periapical image. It tests recognition the way the job does, which multiple choice rarely manages. Put these items in Test Center exams, which draw on the full question bank (course quizzes support 11 of the 14 types). Audio and video answer questions let a student talk through a procedure for an instructor to review. Confirm in a demo how those answers are marked before a score depends on them.
Proctored exams and identity checks for distance learners
Accredited schools that teach at a distance carry a specific duty. Under 34 CFR 602.17(g), accreditors must require processes that establish "that a student who registers in any course offered via distance education or correspondence is the same student who academically engages in the course or program." Unaccredited programs have no such rule, but employers relying on your certificate expect the same.
The Test Center runs module and final exams with native proctoring set per exam: ID photo capture, periodic webcam and screen snapshots, AI face monitoring that flags no face or more than one face, fullscreen lockdown, logged tab switching and copy-paste attempts, single-session and device lock, and a violation limit you choose. Each flag lands in an evidence trail a reviewer can open when a result is challenged. Native proctored exams lists every control.
Proctoring covers exams, not lesson viewing. Essay and file-upload exam questions are screening items that do not count toward the score, so keep scored items objective.
Which state rules shape a dental assistant curriculum?
Assistant rules are set state by state and they change, so check your state dental board before you fix hours or course names. Three patterns show the range.
California: 8-hour infection control before exposure
Under California Business and Professions Code 1750(c), the employer is responsible for making sure an unlicensed dental assistant "has successfully completed a board-approved eight-hour course in infection control prior to performing any basic supportive dental procedures involving potential exposure to blood, saliva, or other potentially infectious materials." Within a year of employment the assistant also needs a board-approved two-hour Dental Practice Act course and current BLS. Our California dental assistant training requirements guide covers the certificate fields, the delayed virtual option and Cal/OSHA duties.
Texas: radiology certificate before x-rays
The Texas State Board of Dental Examiners x-ray certification page says "to legally position or expose dental x-rays, a dental assistant must hold a Dental Assistant Radiology Certificate issued by the State Board of Dental Examiners," obtained after a course and exam by a TSBDE-approved provider. The certificate comes from the Board, never from your LMS.
States with no formal requirement
Where the state sets no education rule, your program's standard is the standard. A clear blueprint and proctored exams matter most here, because the hiring office has nothing else to go on. Federal OSHA applies everywhere an assistant is employed. Under 29 CFR 1910.1030(f), hepatitis B vaccination "shall be made available after the employee has received the training ... and within 10 working days of initial assignment," so bloodborne pathogens training belongs at the very start of any academy that puts employees near patients. Our post on dental OSHA training requirements separates the annual items from the one-time ones.
How does DANB exam prep fit inside your program?
The Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) offers the Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) exam, which it describes as "recognized or required in many states," plus Infection Control (ICE), NELDA and CDA exams. DANB delivers them as online proctored exams, test center exams and state exams.
Practice exams you write versus DALE practice tests
The DALE Foundation exam prep catalog, from DANB's affiliate, offers online practice tests that "closely follow DANB's exam outlines" for RHS, ICE, GC and CDA, and review courses from "dental radiography to infection control to chairside assisting," with group purchases for schools and DSOs (as of September 2026). Many programs use DALE tests for exam-style rehearsal and their own module exams to check what they taught. Base internal items on DANB's outlines, but write them yourself.
Where DANB exams actually happen
DANB exams are taken through DANB. LMS Advisor runs your practice and module exams only. It does not deliver, score or report DANB exams, and it does not issue DANB or state credentials.
How do you run cohorts, campuses and DSO regions on one platform?
Groups per cohort, organizations per campus or region
Set up each cohort as a group, each campus or office as an organization and each region or brand as a branch. Roles and permissions decide what each campus director can do, and manager views show an office lead who is in training. Confirm in a demo how you limit each director's view to their own campus. Assign program courses with due dates and mandatory flags, then use overdue reports to spot who has fallen behind. For onboarding every role across a group, not just assistants, see our DSO training software guide.
Translations and phone login
Plenty of assistant students study on a phone after a shift. Phone login by one-time code over SMS or WhatsApp removes the need for a company email, the iOS and Android app puts the program on their phone, and course and lesson translations serve Spanish-speaking cohorts. Students can save video, audio and document lessons to study on the bus or in a break room without Wi-Fi, while quizzes need a connection and proctored exams are taken on a computer.
Selling seats through WooCommerce
If you enroll the public, sell seats through an existing WooCommerce store with our plugin and token sign-in. There is no native checkout, coupons or payment plans, so the store handles money and the LMS handles learning.
What to look for in a dental assisting school LMS
- Pacing controls. Minimum lesson time, sequential progression and drip release that match your stated hours.
- Video you can question. Timestamped questions on chairside demonstrations, not just playback.
- A real exam engine. Question pools, difficulty levels and image items for radiographs and instruments.
- Proctoring with evidence. Identity capture and a reviewable trail for every flagged attempt.
- Attendance for live and lab sessions in the same record as online work.
- Certificates an employer can verify through a public page, not just a PDF.
- Structure for cohorts and campuses, with scoped admin roles.
- An exit route. CSV, Excel and PDF exports, webhooks and an API for student records.
Our dental LMS overview covers the rest of a group's training.
Dental assistant training options compared
Some of these are programs or content rather than software, but buyers weigh them against building their own. Other options' facts are from their public pages as of September 2026.
| Option | What it is | Online didactic | Exams | Clinical component | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick) | LMS and Test Center you run | Your courses, minimum time, interactive video | Proctored, question pools, image hotspot | Not tracked, but live and lab sessions carry attendance | Best overall for DSO academies, private schools and course providers |
| Stepful | Online program students enroll in | 16 weeks, 4 live classes a week | DANB RHS mock exams | Optional 80-hour externship | Individual students |
| DALE Foundation | Exam prep content | Review courses | Practice tests following DANB outlines | No | Add-on to any program |
| Dentlogics | Dental content plus LMS | Dental assisting category within 200+ courses | Not stated | No | Offices that want ready content |
| AcademyOcean | General LMS with a dental page | Your courses | Quizzes and skill exams | Practical evaluations | Teams wanting a hosted course builder |
| In-house DSO academy (Aspen, Heartland examples, not customers) | Program a DSO runs for its hires | Virtual and on-demand classes | Not stated | In-office training | Example of the academy model |
LMS Advisor: best overall for programs that test
We rank it first because an assistant program lives or dies on pacing and assessment. Paced courses, interactive chairside video, image hotspot exams, native proctoring with an evidence trail, live sessions with attendance and verifiable certificates cover that work in one place, in our cloud or on your own server. The trade-off: you bring the curriculum.
Stepful: best for individual students
The Stepful dental assistant program is a 16-week fully online program with "4 live classes per week," RHS mock exams in weeks 11 to 16 ahead of the DANB RHS exam, and an optional "80-hour in-person clinical externship at a local dental practice." You send people to it rather than run it.
Dentlogics: best for ready-made content
The Dentlogics DSO page lists "200+ Video Training Courses" including dental assisting, says courses are "approved for CE (AGD PACE)," and offers a DSO tier with custom branding, authoring, learning paths, reporting and SSO. It also licenses courses "in SCORM format" for other LMSs, so licensed content can play inside our platform as SCORM lessons.
AcademyOcean: best for a general hosted builder
The AcademyOcean dental page offers "quizzes, practical evaluations, surveys, and skill exams" and a certificate builder with "an in-built editor."
How to set up a dental assistant program in LMS Advisor
- Define the program. Hours, modules, objectives and the clinical skills list your instructors will check in person.
- Set pacing. Lesson minimum times and a drip schedule that match your planned hours, with sequential progression on.
- Record chairside demonstrations in the Recording Studio and add timestamped questions and rewind-on-wrong.
- Write an exam blueprint and build question pools per module, with image hotspot items for radiographs and trays.
- Turn on proctoring for module and final exams: ID photo, snapshots, lockdown and a violation limit.
- Schedule lab days as live sessions with QR attendance.
- Design certificates in the certificate designer, issued on pass, with a public verification page. Confirm in a demo that fields such as program hours print the way you need.
- Keep clinical sign-offs in your externship or clinical records and link them to the LMS by export.
- Check your state board rules for infection control, radiography and scope before launch.
- Document identity verification if you are accredited and teach at a distance.
To see a dental assistant module with interactive chairside video, an image hotspot radiograph question and a proctored module exam, request a demo.
A 30/60/90 day plan for launching an assistant academy
Days 1 to 30. Write the blueprint and module list. Decide what you record, license as SCORM or buy from DALE. Set up groups, campuses and admin roles.
Days 31 to 60. Publish the first two modules with minimum times, interactive video and pooled quizzes. Run one proctored module exam with staff playing students, and review the evidence trail together.
Days 61 to 90. Launch the first cohort, hold the first lab day with QR check-in and issue the first certificates. Export a sample student record and compare it with what an employer or accreditor would ask for.
Where LMS Advisor is not the right fit
- No dental assisting curriculum or DANB exam content. Write your own or license it. DANB exams are taken through DANB.
- No clinical hours logbook, externship placement or competency sign-off matrix. There is no skills framework, so keep chairside check-offs in your clinical records.
- Not a student information system. No financial aid, transcripts or accreditation reporting.
- Selling needs WooCommerce. No native checkout.
- Some structural limits. Learning paths cannot include exams, and essay or file-upload exam questions do not count toward the score.
- Offline study covers some lesson types. The iOS and Android app saves video, audio and document lessons only. Quizzes need a connection, and proctored module and final exams need a computer.
- It does not decide what counts. Your state board or accreditor does.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best dental assistant training software for DSO academies and schools?
LMS Advisor is our pick for academies and schools that run their own curriculum and need real exams. It combines paced courses, interactive chairside video, image hotspot questions, native proctoring and verifiable certificates. If you want a finished program to send students to, look at Stepful, and for ready-made office content, Dentlogics.
Can a dental assistant program be taught online?
The theory can, and many programs teach it online with live virtual classes. Chairside skills and clinical time stay in person. Whether an online portion counts toward a state requirement is your state board's or accreditor's decision.
Can LMS Advisor proctor DANB exams?
No. DANB delivers its exams as online proctored, test center or state exams. Our Test Center proctors your own practice, module and final exams.
How do we test chairside skills in an online program?
Test knowledge online and hands in person. Use interactive video questions and image hotspot items for recognition, then have an instructor check the physical skill on lab day, with QR attendance recording who was there.
Can we sell program seats to the public?
Yes, through our plugin for an existing WooCommerce store, with token sign-in into the courses. There is no native checkout, coupons or payment plans.
Does LMS Advisor track externship hours?
No. It has no clinical hours logbook or externship placement tools. Keep those in your clinical records and use exports to join them to each student's LMS record.
Can a DSO academy and a private school share one platform?
Possibly. You can set them up as separate organizations with their own groups and admins, but multi-tenant features are early, so confirm in a demo that each side sees only its own students before you commit.
An assistant program earns trust when every graduate's record shows paced theory, a fair exam taken by the right person and a certificate anyone can check. If you are choosing a platform for that, book a demo and bring your module list.