Halloween to Cyber Monday sale: 30% off your first year of LMS Advisor, cloud or self-hosted.30% off your first year Ends Dec 1, 2026 Claim the offer
Salons, Barbershops & Beauty

Salon staff training software for salon and barbershop groups

Run one associate program across every salon, check real skills with photos, video and diagrams, and prove safety training location by location.

The best salon staff training software runs your associate program, films each service standard once for every location, checks hands-on skills with photos, video and diagrams, and proves safety training salon by salon. LMS Advisor is our top pick for salon and barbershop groups: branches for locations, interactive technique video, rubric-graded assignments, renewing certificates and an iOS and Android app with phone login.

This guide is for education directors, operations leads and franchise training managers at salon and barbershop groups with several locations or a few dozen stylists and up. It covers what the training has to do, the safety rules behind it, how the platforms compare and how to run an associate program. LMS Advisor is our platform, so we also say plainly what it does not do. The advice comes from years of building, fixing and migrating LMS platforms, including training setups for multi-site teams. For schools and brand academies too, start with our guide to LMS for salons, barbershops and beauty.

What salon staff training software needs to do for a group

Salon staff training software is a learning platform that teaches and records how your team works: technique, service standards, product knowledge, safety and the guest experience. It is not your booking or POS system. Those tools run the appointment book and commissions, and their training sections mostly teach the software itself.

Search results blur the two. Zenoti University offers role courses such as "Zenoti Essentials: Front Desk Operations" at no additional cost to Zenoti customers, according to Zenoti's 2020 launch announcement. Meevo's learning platform and SalonBiz Academy do the same for their own products. They teach the front desk to use the booking screen, not your haircut, color formulas or consultation.

Chains that take education seriously run it like a school. Great Clips, whose salons are independently owned, describes "hundreds of live, virtual education classes each month" plus a video library, an academy for new stylists and a manager program. We cite it to show the scale some groups work at, not as a customer.

Onboard associates and new hires the same way everywhere

An associate at your newest salon should learn the same shampoo, blowout and greeting as one at the flagship. Without a shared program, each lead educator teaches a personal version and the standard drifts.

Keep service standards and product knowledge current

A new color line or a changed consultation script has to reach every chair, and someone has to see who watched it.

Prove safety and sanitation training at every location

"We covered it at the team meeting" is weak evidence when an inspector asks. You want a dated record for each person at each salon.

How do you train stylists across multiple salons?

Write the standard once, teach it the same way everywhere and judge it against the same criteria. Software handles the first and last parts well. The middle still needs educators, mannequins and models.

Write the standard once, film it once

Pick your strongest educator for each service and film the demo one time. In LMS Advisor the Recording Studio records camera, screen plus camera or a whiteboard in the browser, and the file lands in the Media Library for reuse in any course. Streaming is login-gated, so your education stays inside the company. Then add timestamped questions, chapters and overlay notes with interactive video, and turn on rewind-on-wrong: a stylist who misses the question about elevation replays that part before moving on.

Levels with clear criteria up front

Aveda's advice to salons building an education program is to set out the criteria for each level "up front", keep groups to no more than 12 trainees per educator and weight classroom to hands-on at "about 20:80" (Aveda Means Business, top ten tips for a salon education program). Online lessons cover the 20. Floor time with models is the 80. Put each level's criteria in its first lesson so associates know exactly what they will be judged on.

Test when ready, not by calendar

The same Aveda piece says to let trainees "take the test when they're ready." Build each level as a course with sequential progression and a lesson minimum time so nobody skips the theory. Drip scheduling (days after enrollment) gives you a week-by-week theory plan, while the educator decides when the hands-on check happens.

Can training software check a haircut or a color service?

Not on its own. An educator still judges the work. Software collects the evidence, routes it to the right educator and keeps the record, so a stylist three hours away can be assessed without the drive.

Image hotspot on sectioning and foil diagrams

An image hotspot question asks the learner to click the right place on a picture: the correct section for a graduated bob, foil placement for a face-frame highlight, the guard length on a fade chart. LMS Advisor exams offer 14 question types, including hotspot, audio answers and recorded video answers, as listed on our assessments and quizzes page.

Recorded video answers and photo submissions

A stylist can record a short video explaining a consultation or a formula choice, or upload photos of mannequin and model work to an assignment. Treat these as evidence for an educator to review. Before you promise points for video answers, check in a demo how they are scored for your exam setup, because essay and file-upload exam items do not count toward the score.

Rubric grading with educator sign-off

Assignments are graded against a rubric you write: balance, blending, a clean part line, finish time. AI can suggest a grade from that rubric, and the educator approves or changes it before anything is final.

What safety training are salons required to do?

It depends on your services and states. Three kinds of rules come up most.

OSHA formaldehyde training for smoothing treatments

If you offer hair smoothing products that can release formaldehyde, OSHA expects salon employers to test the air, ventilate, provide protective equipment and train workers on the hazards, under the formaldehyde and Hazard Communication standards (OSHA guidance for hair salons). The formaldehyde standard, 29 CFR 1910.1048(n), requires training "at the time of initial assignment, and whenever a new exposure to formaldehyde is introduced into the work area," repeated at least annually. Employers can skip it only where objective data show exposure stays below 0.1 ppm.

In LMS Advisor this becomes a mandatory course for the stylists who perform the treatment, with a due date and a course certificate valid for 12 months. The 30-day expiring-soon status and certificate-expiring emails show who needs the refresher, and renewal means retaking the course. Our certificates and compliance page covers the certificate settings.

State board sanitation rules and CE topics

State CE rules show which safety topics boards care about, even though your internal training is usually not CE:

  • Texas: since September 1, 2025, licensees with fewer than 15 years complete 4 hours at renewal (1 hour of sanitation, 2 hours of barber or cosmetology related information, 1 hour of human trafficking prevention). Those with 15 or more years complete 2 hours, and barbers are now included, per the TDLR announcement of the new CE requirements.
  • Florida: 10 hours, including 3 hours of sanitation and sterilization, half an hour of OSHA and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS. Since July 1, 2024, licensees who have held an active license for 10 or more years without discipline can be exempt (Florida Board of Cosmetology hot topics).
  • Illinois: cosmetologists need 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention and 13 hours in subject areas, barbers need the harassment prevention hour, and online courses from an approved sponsor must include an examination (IDFPR CE fact sheet).

An in-house sanitation refresher is not state CE unless an approved provider delivers it, so stylists still take board-approved CE to renew. Your platform proves your own training. It does not replace theirs. For how we judge platforms on the records they produce, see best LMS for compliance training, judged on audit evidence.

Groups that sponsor apprentices carry a heavier load. California's barbering and cosmetology apprenticeship requires at least 3,200 on-the-job hours over two years and at least 220 hours of related training from the program sponsor (California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, apprenticeship). Washington's cosmetology apprenticeship lists 3,000 on-the-job hours and 244 hours of related supplemental instruction, in an approved salon under the direct supervision of approved trainers (Washington DOL cosmetology apprenticeship program). An LMS can deliver the related instruction and record completions and class attendance. Keep the official on-the-job hour log wherever your approving agency expects it.

How does salon franchise training work across locations?

Branches, organizations and manager views

In LMS Advisor, branches map to salons, organizations map to franchisees or regions, and groups map to roles such as associate, stylist, barber, manager and educator. Course assignments carry due dates and mandatory flags, and manager views let each salon manager follow their own people. The enterprise management page explains how admin rights are delegated, and our franchise training software page covers the franchisor and franchisee split in more depth.

What HQ sees vs what a salon manager sees

HQ education reviews completion, quiz results and attendance by course, branch or organization, and exports CSV, Excel or PDF for owner meetings. A salon manager mostly needs the overdue report for their salon. Automated emails chase stylists who never started, stalled mid-course or stopped logging in. One caution for franchise systems: multi-tenant setup in LMS Advisor is early, so do not plan on a separately branded portal for each franchisee.

What to look for in salon training software

  1. Video you own, with questions inside it.
  2. Skill evidence beyond multiple choice: photo and video submissions, rubric grading and image hotspot questions.
  3. A location structure that matches your salons, franchisees and roles.
  4. Mandatory courses with due dates and renewing certificates for sanitation and chemical safety.
  5. Phone-first access, including login without a company email.
  6. Attendance for model nights and in-person classes.
  7. A clean line with booking and payroll, so you keep the salon software the team already runs on.

Salon staff training software compared

Competitor details come from each vendor's own public pages as of September 2026. "Not stated" means the page we read did not say, not that the product lacks it.

PlatformBuilt forSkill checks beyond quizzesLocations and franchiseesCertificates and renewalMobileHosting
LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick)Salon and barbershop groups, franchise systemsImage hotspot, audio and video answers, rubric-graded assignments, proctored examsBranches, organizations, groups, manager viewsDesigner, auto-issue, public verification, validity with renewal by retakeiOS and Android apps, PWA, SMS or WhatsApp loginOur cloud or self-hosted
TrainualSalons and spas with 25 to 1,000 employees (its own claim)Quizzes and e-signaturesAssign by job function or locationNot statedMobile app and Chrome extensionNot stated
Salon SymphonySalon team communication and managementQuiz BuilderNot statedNot statediPhone and Android appsNot stated
ConnecteamNon-desk employeesBuilt-in quizzesNot statedRecord of mandatory courses and certificationsCourses on mobile devicesNot stated
Zenoti, Meevo and SalonBiz academiesCustomers learning that booking softwareSelf-check quizzes (Meevo)Role-based pathsCertifications (Meevo)Not statedIncluded with the software
TrainersPlaybookSalon associate programsStep-by-step videos practiced on mannequinsNot statedNot statedNot statedSubscription by associate and educator seats

LMS Advisor: best overall for salon groups that need skill checks and proof

It puts questions inside technique video, rubric-graded model work, hotspot and video-answer checks, renewing safety certificates and reporting by salon and franchisee in one platform, hosted by us or on your server.

Trainual: best for documenting SOPs and policies

Trainual's own salon and spa software roundup, dated January 2, 2026, ranks Trainual first and calls it "purpose-built for growing Salons and Spas with 25-1,000 employees." You can assign training by job function or location and track it with quizzes and e-signatures. For writing down front desk, opening and closing procedures, it is a strong fit. The page we read does not mention rubric grading or image-based questions.

Salon Symphony: best for small teams that want communication plus quizzes

Salon Symphony describes itself as a communication and team management platform "built by and for salon professionals," with more than 20 built-in tools. Its features page lists a Quiz Builder, a Resource Library for training content and goal setting, with iPhone and Android apps. Pricing is shown at $99 a month with no contract. For one owner who wants team chat plus training files, it is simpler than an LMS.

Connecteam: best for a free start with a small deskless team

Connecteam's training app is made "with the non-desk employee in mind," with built-in quizzes, a trackable record of mandatory courses and certifications, and AI course creation. It is free for up to 10 users, with a 14-day trial of all features.

Salon software academies: best for learning your booking system

Zenoti University, Meevo's learning platform and SalonBiz Academy teach your team to use that software, and SalonBiz Academy is free to SalonBiz users. Use them for front desk onboarding alongside, not instead of, technique education.

TrainersPlaybook: best as a ready-made associate video program

The Salon Associate Accelerator sells short, step-by-step videos, "video-based, needs no supervision," practiced on mannequins, with a promise of "As Little as 3 Months to Fully Trained Associates." Seats are sold by associate (2 to 14) and educator, month to month. It can sit next to LMS Advisor: bought videos, your own checks and records.

How to run a salon associate program in LMS Advisor

  1. Map your structure. List salons, franchisees and roles, then create matching branches, organizations and groups.
  2. Write level criteria first. Shampoo, blowout, color application and haircut levels, each with what "passed" looks like, before you build anything.
  3. Film each standard once in the Recording Studio, then add timestamped questions, chapters and rewind-on-wrong.
  4. Build one course per level with sequential progression, lesson minimum time, required blocks in interactive modules and drip by week.
  5. Add model-work assignments with a rubric, and decide which educators approve them.
  6. Create image hotspot and video-answer checks for the skills that matter most, such as sectioning and consultation.
  7. Assign mandatory safety courses (sanitation, and formaldehyde where smoothing treatments are offered) with due dates and certificates valid for 12 months.
  8. Print QR codes for model nights and in-person classes, and schedule live education through Zoom or Google Meet.
  9. Turn on phone login by SMS or WhatsApp one-time code and install the iOS or Android app with each team at a staff meeting.
  10. Give each salon manager a manager view and review overdue reports every week.

Want to see it with your own standards? Request a demo and we will run an associate program end to end: a technique video with questions, a model-work assignment graded against a rubric and the location report your managers would see.

A 30, 60 and 90 day rollout for a salon group

  • Days 1 to 30: set up branches and roles, build the first associate level and the sanitation course, and run a pilot in one salon with a strong lead educator.
  • Days 31 to 60: add two or three salons, run a model night with QR check-in and grade the first rubric assignments.
  • Days 61 to 90: open it to every salon, move managers onto the weekly overdue report and retire the old folder of videos.

Our week-by-week LMS implementation timeline has the fuller version.

What LMS Advisor does not do

  • No booking, POS, commission or payroll. Keep your salon software for those.
  • No ready-made cutting, color or barbering library. Record your own or pair it with bought content such as TrainersPlaybook or brand education.
  • No skills matrix or competency framework. Level sign-offs run through assignments, exams and certificates, not a checklist grid.
  • No salon-against-salon leaderboard. Points, badges, levels and streaks work per person, and boards rank people for the platform, a course, a group or an organization, so a salon set up as a group gets its own board.
  • Prerequisites lock lessons, not enrollment. A stylist can enroll in the next level early, but its lessons stay locked until the prerequisite course is complete. To control enrollment too, have an admin enroll each stylist in the following level (the API and WooCommerce can do it too).
  • Deadline reminders start switched off. An admin turns them on, managers work from overdue reports, and certificate-expiring emails do go out.
  • No license or CE tracking. It does not award state CE unless your group becomes an approved provider in its own right.
  • Offline covers saved lessons only. Stylists can save video, audio and document lessons in the app, but quizzes, live education and QR check-in at a model night need a signal.

It is also not built for a single-chair stylist or booth renter. The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook reports that 80 percent of barbers and 48 percent of hairdressers and cosmetologists are self-employed, and most of them need a good class, not a platform.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best salon staff training software for a multi-location group?

LMS Advisor is our pick for salon and barbershop groups that need skill checks and proof of training by location. It combines interactive technique video, rubric-graded assignments, hotspot and video-answer questions, mandatory safety courses with renewing certificates and branch reporting. Trainual suits SOP documentation better, and Connecteam is a free start for very small teams.

How do you train stylists consistently across multiple salons?

Film each standard once, publish it to every salon and check it against the same written criteria. Keep online theory short and save most of the time for hands-on work with an educator.

Can online training check hands-on skills like cutting and color?

Partly. Software collects the evidence (photos, recorded video, hotspot answers on diagrams) and an educator grades it against a rubric. The final call on a cut or color still belongs to a person.

Does salon safety training count as state CE?

Usually not. State CE must come from a board-approved provider, so an internal sanitation or formaldehyde course proves your own training but does not renew a license. Stylists still complete approved CE, such as the Texas sanitation and human trafficking hours.

Do stylists need to download an app?

Not necessarily. LMS Advisor has an iOS and Android app in the App Store and Google Play, and stylists who would rather skip the store can add the PWA to their home screen from the browser. Both accept a one-time code by SMS or WhatsApp, and the app can save video, audio and document lessons for offline viewing when you allow downloads.

Is an LMS worth it for a single salon?

Usually not. One salon with one educator can manage with a shared video folder and a paper checklist. An LMS pays off once you have several locations, an associate program or safety training you must prove.

Ready to build your first associate level? Get started with LMS Advisor and film one standard, add the questions and send it to a pilot salon this month.

Everything about LMS Advisor for salons, barbershops & beauty

Get a tailored demo

See LMS Advisor for salons, barbershops & beauty

Tell us about your staff, sites and training rules. We will show you how LMS Advisor handles them, including the parts we do not cover.

  • Walkthrough built around this guide
  • Cloud or self-hosted options
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More guides
From the blog