Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16. Get early access to 30% off your first year.Black Friday 2026 opens Nov 16 Get early access
Healthcare

Nursing home staff training software: what CMS surveyors check

What 42 CFR 483.95 requires, what surveyors ask to see, and how to pick software that gets CNAs trained and proves it in every building.

LMS Advisor is our top pick for nursing home staff training software when you run your own training program. CNAs sign in with a one-time phone code, in-services run live with QR check-in or online, mandatory courses carry due dates by facility and role, and course certificates expire on a set cycle. It has no course library, so bring your own or licensed SCORM content.

LMS Advisor is our platform, so we also say where other vendors fit better. This page is for administrators, directors of nursing, staff development coordinators and compliance leads in skilled nursing, including multi-facility operators. It covers what 42 CFR 483.95 requires, what surveyors ask to see, how to reach CNAs without work email, and how the main platforms compare. The setup advice comes from years of building, fixing and migrating LMS platforms.

What is the best nursing home staff training software?

The best nursing home staff training software gives you a clean record, per person and per topic, for every requirement in your plan, and aides will open it on a phone. For operators that write or license their own courses, that is LMS Advisor. It handles what usually breaks in long-term care: aides without email, break-room in-services, one curriculum across buildings with separate records, and annual retakes.

If your priority is a large accredited catalog on day one, a content vendor such as Relias, HealthStream or Healthcare Academy gets you there faster. Many facilities combine the two, as the build-or-license section below explains.

What training does CMS require for nursing home staff?

Federal training rules for nursing homes sit in 42 CFR 483.95, the CMS training requirements. A facility "must develop, implement, and maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff; individuals providing services under a contractual arrangement; and volunteers, consistent with their expected roles." The amount and types of training follow the facility assessment, and the rule lists nine topic areas. States can add more, so treat this list as the floor.

The nine 483.95 training areas at a glance

ParagraphTraining areaWhoFrequency in the federal text
(a)Effective communicationsDirect care staffNot stated
(b)Resident rights and facility responsibilitiesStaffNot stated
(c)Abuse, neglect, exploitation, misappropriation of resident property, reporting procedures, dementia management and abuse preventionStaffNot stated
(d)QAPI program elements and goalsStaffNot stated
(e)Infection prevention and control standards, policies and proceduresStaffNot stated
(f)Compliance and ethics programStaff, through the operating organizationAnnual if the operator runs five or more facilities
(g)Nurse aide in-serviceNurse aidesAt least 12 hours per year
(h)Paid feeding assistant trainingPaid feeding assistantsState-approved program completed before working in the role
(i)Behavioral health, consistent with 483.40 and the facility assessmentStaffNot stated

"Not stated" means the federal text sets no cycle. Check your state rules, then write a cycle (often orientation plus yearly) into your policy so the LMS can enforce it.

The 12-hour nurse aide in-service (F947)

Nurse aide in-service must "be sufficient to ensure the continuing competence of nurse aides, but must be no less than 12 hours per year." It must "include dementia management training and resident abuse prevention training" and "address areas of weakness as determined in nurse aides' performance reviews." Aides caring for cognitively impaired residents also need training on that care. Surveyors cite gaps here under F947, Required In-Service Training for Nurse Aides.

Twelve hours is a floor, and a year of 15-minute modules can fall short until somebody totals the minutes. Content counts too: twelve hours without dementia care still miss the rule. Decide whether you count the calendar year or the hire anniversary, check whether your state specifies one, and apply it the same way for every aide.

Compliance and ethics for operators with five or more facilities

Paragraph (f) ties training to the compliance and ethics program in 483.85. Every operating organization must communicate the program's standards, policies and procedures "through a training program or in another practical manner." Under the Cornell LII text of 483.95(f), an organization that operates five or more facilities must also provide annual training. For a chain, that is one annual course in every building, reported by facility.

Bloodborne pathogens and other OSHA training

The OSHA bloodborne pathogens standard, 29 CFR 1910.1030, requires training for employees with occupational exposure at the time of initial assignment and at least annually after that. It must include an opportunity for interactive questions and answers with the person conducting the training, and training records must be kept for three years from the date of the training. So a self-paced module needs a route to a qualified trainer, such as a scheduled live session. Our table of training records retention requirements by US rule compares retention periods.

What changed when CMS repealed the staffing minimums?

Staffing minimums repealed, facility assessment kept

The 2024 final rule set a minimum of 3.48 total nurse staffing hours per resident day and a registered nurse on site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. CMS repealed those staffing standards effective December 2, 2025. As AHA News reported on the repeal, "the facility assessment requirements adopted in the 2024 final rule will remain in place."

Why the facility assessment now drives your training plan

The facility assessment now lives at 42 CFR 483.71. It must address "the staff competencies and skill sets that are necessary to provide the level and types of care needed for the resident population." Because 483.95 bases training on that assessment, a surveyor can ask how you train each competency it names, such as wound care or behavioral health. Each one needs a course, in-service or skills check with names and dates behind it.

Keep a one-page map: competency, the course or session that covers it, and the groups assigned. LMS Advisor has no competency framework, so the map lives in your assessment and the LMS holds the completions.

What do surveyors ask to see?

The regulations point to three kinds of proof.

Training records by person and topic

Expect to pull records for named staff on short notice: topics completed, dates, and for aides, in-service hours. A binder of sign-in sheets answers slowly, a per-person report quickly. Before survey week, pick five random names and time the lookup.

Proof in-service addressed performance-review weaknesses

Under 42 CFR 483.35(d)(7), the facility "must complete a performance review of every nurse aide at least once every 12 months, and must provide regular in-service education based on the outcome of these reviews." The evidence is a chain: the review found a weakness, a specific in-service was assigned, and the aide completed it on a date. Make the link visible, not just the two ends.

Evidence for new hires inside the 4-month window

483.35(d)(1) says a facility "must not use any individual working in the facility as a nurse aide for more than 4 months, on a full-time basis, unless that individual" is competent and has completed a state-approved training and competency evaluation program or competency evaluation program, or has been deemed competent as the rule allows. Track hire dates next to orientation completion so a new aide's status is visible well before month four.

What should an LMS for nursing homes do?

Generic LMS checklists miss the nursing floor. Score these first:

  • Sign-in without email. Many CNAs have a phone number and no work inbox.
  • Assignments by building and role. Mandatory courses with due dates and an overdue view per building.
  • In-person attendance on the record. Skills fairs and huddles land in the same record as online courses.
  • Certificates that expire. Annual topics need a validity period and a visible expiring-soon status.
  • Hours you can total. A way to add up each aide's in-service time, even if that is an export you total yourself.
  • Scoped access. Each building sees its own people, the operator sees everyone.
  • Content options. SCORM import plus your own authoring.
  • Languages. Translations for the languages your staff speak.

How do you train CNAs who have no work email?

Phone code sign-in and the mobile app

In LMS Advisor, staff without email sign in with a one-time code sent by SMS or WhatsApp. Aides get the app for iPhone or Android from the App Store or Google Play, so have each new hire install it at orientation. For dead zones in the building, allow downloads so video, audio and document lessons can be saved on the phone. Quizzes, SCORM packages and QR check-in still need a connection. The iOS and Android app page shows what aides see.

In-services on paper vs QR check-in

Paper sign-in sheets bring illegible names and stacks that never get keyed in. In LMS Advisor, a live in-service or skills fair is a session inside a course, with attendance by QR check-in or marked manually. Night shift can join through Zoom or Google Meet sessions run from the course, as the virtual classroom and live session features show.

Translations for multilingual teams

Course and lesson translations let one course carry several language versions. Have a bilingual nurse review clinical wording before publishing, because a translated infection control step that is slightly wrong is worse than none.

How do multi-facility operators run training across buildings?

One curriculum, each building's own records

Set up each facility as a branch and each role (CNA, licensed nurse, dietary, housekeeping) as a group. Assign mandatory courses to groups with due dates, and each building gets its own overdue report while the curriculum stays identical. When a rule changes, you edit one course, not twelve copies.

Facility-specific policies and local courses

Some content is local by nature: an evacuation plan, a unit layout, a building's smoking policy. Build those as short courses and assign them to one branch only.

Operator dashboards and exports

Manager views are scoped, so an administrator sees one building and a regional or corporate lead sees the whole operator. Audit logs and data retention settings are built in, and reports export to CSV, Excel or PDF for the survey binder. The enterprise management features cover branches, groups and roles, and our guide to an LMS for health systems covers the hospital side of a mixed network.

Should you build your own courses or license a library?

Licensing is faster for standard topics. Building is better for anything tied to your policies, residents or building. Most facilities need both.

LMS Advisor imports SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 packages, the format vendors such as Coggno say they deliver. For your own material, AI drafts a course, section or lesson, and nothing publishes automatically, so your director of nursing or infection preventionist corrects each draft first. Interactive video adds timestamped questions and rewinds the aide after a wrong answer, which suits dementia care, abuse prevention and infection control scenarios. The course authoring tools page covers lesson types.

Nursing home training software compared

PlatformBest forContent libraryYour own coursesPhone sign-in without emailQR in-service attendanceCertificate expiry
LMS Advisor (our platform, top pick)Operators running their own program across one or many facilitiesNo library, imports SCORMYes, with AI draftingYes, SMS or WhatsApp codeYes, QR or manual check-inYes, course certificates
ReliasLargest accredited catalogYes, "4,500+ accredited courses"Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
HealthStream (Skilled Nursing)CE plus QAPI and exclusion monitoring from one vendorYes, "80+ Micro Compliance Courses"Yes, course authoring and uploadNot statedNot statedNot stated
Healthcare AcademyA vendor focused only on long-term and post-acute careYes, "240+ Courses accredited"Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
CoggnoLicensing SCORM content into an LMS you already runYes, "10,000+ course catalog"Content vendorNot statedNot statedNot stated
MedTrainerTraining bundled with policy and incident toolsYes, healthcare libraryYesNot statedNot statedNot stated
Activated Insights (CareAcademy)Accredited dementia and SNF trainingYes, accredited SNF coursesYesNot statedNot statedNot stated

Vendor facts come from each vendor's own pages as of September 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it there, not that the product lacks it.

LMS Advisor: best overall for nursing homes that run their own program. It covers the evidence side of CMS training, runs in our cloud or self-hosted on your server, and leaves the content to you.

Relias: best for the largest accredited catalog. Relias cites "12,000 customers," "4.5 million caregivers" and "4,500+ accredited courses from 250 trusted bodies" on its Relias LMS product page as of September 2026.

HealthStream: best for CE and QAPI tooling together. The HealthStream skilled nursing page lists "600+ CE for Specialty Care and Long-Term Care," "QAPI Tools for Quality Improvement," OIG, sanctions and exclusions monitoring, and course authoring and upload.

Healthcare Academy: best for a long-term care specialist. It is "proud to solely serve long-term and post-acute care" and has offered web-based training "since 1995," per the Healthcare Academy site.

Coggno: best for adding licensed content to your LMS. A June 5, 2026 Coggno post on senior living training says its Prime plan starts at "$5/user/month," describes a "10,000+ course catalog" in "15+ languages," and lists bundles covering "CMS Phase 3 abuse prevention, dementia care, state mandated reporter, HIPAA, OSHA bloodborne pathogens and HazCom." Its SCORM packages can run in LMS Advisor, but test one first, since a multi-SCO SCORM 2004 package launches only its entry resource in our player.

MedTrainer: best when you also want policy and incident tools. Its long-term care training post lists "automated course completion reminders" and the option to "create or upload facility-specific courses," and the company also sells policy management, incident reporting and accreditation tools.

Activated Insights: best for accredited dementia training. Activated Insights, which acquired CareAcademy, says its SNF training is "Accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center" and its dementia training is "Officially Recognized by the Alzheimer's Association," per the Activated Insights skilled nursing page.

How to run nursing home training in LMS Advisor

  1. Model your organization. Create a branch per facility and a group per role. Give each building's staff development coordinator a scoped manager view.
  2. Build the curriculum from 483.95. One course per required area, plus your state topics and OSHA training. Put each course's length in its title and on its certificate, for example "Dementia care refresher (1.0 hr)", so in-service hours can be totaled from exports.
  3. Load content. Import licensed SCORM packages, draft facility courses with AI and have a clinician approve them, and add interactive video for scenario topics.
  4. Assign with due dates. Mark the federal topics mandatory, assign by group and branch, and set due dates that match your policy cycle.
  5. Set certificate validity. Give annual courses a 12-month validity. Staff see an expiring-soon status 30 days out, certificate-expiring emails go out, and renewal means retaking the course.
  6. Run live sessions. Schedule skills fairs and in-services as live lessons with QR check-in, or through Zoom or Google Meet for night shift.
  7. Close the performance-review loop. Assign an in-service course when a review finds a weakness. Where you need documented judgment, use assignments graded against a rubric (AI suggests, the instructor approves).
  8. Chase and export. Turn on the "never started" and "stuck mid-course" email rules, check overdue reports weekly, and export per-facility reports monthly into the survey binder.

The compliance training solution and the certificates and compliance features go further into assignments and expiry. Request a demo and we will walk through a CNA in-service year set up for two facilities, with phone sign-in and QR check-in.

A 90-day rollout plan for one or many facilities

  • Days 1 to 30: list the competencies in your facility assessment and every 483.95 topic with an owner, audience and frequency. Plan each CNA's 12 in-service hours, including dementia management and abuse prevention.
  • Days 31 to 60: set up branches and groups, add course lengths to titles and certificates, turn on phone code sign-in, and run one live in-service with QR attendance in a pilot building.
  • Days 61 to 90: assign mandatory courses everywhere, link review weaknesses to in-service, export per-facility reports to the survey binder, and run the five-random-names test.

Where LMS Advisor is not the right fit

What we do not do, and how to fill each gap:

  • No built-in course library. Write your own courses or license SCORM content from a vendor such as Coggno.
  • No in-service hours ledger. Total hours per aide from exports, using the course lengths in titles and certificates.
  • No nurse aide registry verification, license tracking, scheduling or EHR functions. Keep those in your HR, scheduling and clinical systems.
  • No CE credit ledger or accreditation, and no competency checklist or skills matrix. If licensed staff need accredited CE, a vendor such as HealthStream or Relias is the better route.
  • No deadline-reminder emails. Use due dates, overdue reports and the "never started" and "stuck" automation rules instead.
  • Offline has limits. The app saves video, audio and document lessons for aides to use without a connection. SCORM packages, quizzes and live in-services still need one.

If those gaps are acceptable, the platform covers the tracking and evidence side of a CMS training program. Book a demo with your own facility list and we will set up the first building with you. For more on healthcare training beyond nursing homes, see our healthcare LMS guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best nursing home staff training software?

For nursing homes and multi-facility operators that run their own training program, LMS Advisor is our top pick. It combines phone code sign-in, QR in-service attendance, mandatory assignments by facility and role, and expiring course certificates. For a ready-made accredited catalog, Relias, HealthStream or Healthcare Academy fit better.

What training is required for nursing home staff under CMS rules?

42 CFR 483.95 requires training in communication, resident rights, abuse and neglect prevention with dementia management, QAPI, infection control, compliance and ethics, nurse aide in-service, feeding assistant training and behavioral health. States and OSHA add their own requirements.

How many in-service hours do CNAs need each year?

Federal rules require at least 12 hours of nurse aide in-service per year. The hours must include dementia management and abuse prevention and must address weaknesses found in the aide's annual performance review. Your state may add its own requirements, so check them too.

Can CNA in-service be completed online?

Often yes, because the federal rule sets hours and topics, not the delivery method. Your state's nurse aide rules may add conditions, so confirm before moving everything online. For OSHA bloodborne pathogens training, keep a live question-and-answer route to a trainer.

Do multi-facility operators need annual compliance and ethics training?

Yes, if the operating organization runs five or more facilities. 483.95(f) requires annual compliance and ethics training in that case. Smaller operators still communicate the program's standards through training or another practical method.

Does LMS Advisor include ready-made nursing home courses?

No, it ships no course library. You can import licensed SCORM 1.2 or SCORM 2004 packages or build courses yourself with AI drafting that a clinician reviews before anything is published.

Everything about LMS Advisor for healthcare

Get a tailored demo

See LMS Advisor for healthcare

Tell us about your staff, sites and training rules. We will show you how LMS Advisor handles them, including the parts we do not cover.

  • Walkthrough built around this guide
  • Cloud or self-hosted options
  • Reply within one business day

Request a tailored demo

Pick a time for your demo Optional

Times are shown in your own time zone.

More guides
From the blog